Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Accepted Solution

FOS upgrade

Hi,

please can anybody help in the below:

1- i want to upgrade one of my DS-300B FOS from v6.1.0c to v7.2.0a, can i do that directly by applying the v7.2.0a or i have to upgrade first to 6.4.3d and then to v7.2.0a

2- i want to upgrade one of my DS-300B FOS from v6.4.0c to v7.2.0a, can i do that directly by applying the v7.2.0a or i have to upgrade first to 6.4.3d and then to v7.2.0a

 

thank you

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FOS upgrade

hussein,

 

you cannot. Please follow Brocade Official FOS upgrade path

 

http://community.brocade.com/t5/Fibre-Channel-SAN/FOS-Target-Path-ver-4-1-Updated-02-03-14/ta-p/2235

 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-11-2010

Re: FOS upgrade

thank you,

so my understanding now is as following: (please correct me)

1- for the v6.1.0c i have to follow:

6.1.0c > 6.2.2f > 7.0.0x > 7.0.2d > 7.1.1c > 7.2.0a

 

2- for the v6.4.0c:

6.4.0c > v6.4.3e > 7.0.2d > 7.1.1c > 7.2.0a

 

is that right please?

thanks

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FOS upgrade

hussein,

 

--->>> so my understanding now is as following: (please correct me)

1- for the v6.1.0c i have to follow:

6.1.0c > 6.2.2f > 7.0.0x > 7.0.2d > 7.1.1c > 7.2.0a

 

2- for the v6.4.0c:

6.4.0c > v6.4.3e > 7.0.2d > 7.1.1c > 7.2.0a

 

no, the procedure is incorrect, please follow this step.

 

1- since you are on v6.1.0c continue with:

> 6.2.2f > 6.3.2d > 6.4.3d or e > 7.0.2c or d > 7.1.1c > and finaly to 7.2.0c, if you have access.

 

2- since you are on v6.4.0c continue with:

6.4.3d or e > 7.0.2c or d > 7.1.1c > and finaly to 7.2.0c, if you have access.

 

by 2. theoretically, you can upgrade from current 6.4.0c to 7.0.2, but i would follow brocade suggestion and upgrade first to 6.4.3d as descripted in upgrade path procedure.

 

Note, FOS 7.2.0c close Critical DEFECT reported in a and b release.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-11-2010

Re: FOS upgrade

thank you very much Tech,

appriciated

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2010

Re: FOS upgrade

Hello Antonio,

 

I need to upgrade b300 from 6.4.0.0 to the latest version 7.3.0c, does the same upgrade path applies?

 

Regards,

 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: FOS upgrade

Hi,

 

yes, you can safely follow the same upgrade procedure.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.