Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
GK
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

FOS upgrade

after FOS upgrade, firmware showing as unknown for Secondary ,

Appl     Primary/Secondary Versions
------------------------------------------
FOS      v6.1.0c
         Unknown

Now i am not able to upgrade to next level nor downgrade... its giving error..

switch06:admin> firmwareshow
Appl     Primary/Secondary Versions
------------------------------------------
FOS      v6.1.0c
         Unknown
IGBSANSW06:root> firmwaredownload "10.0.0.15","FTP-4","./release.plist","passwor d"
Checking system settings for firmwaredownload...
Sanity check failed because firmwareDownload is already in progress.

Super Contributor
Posts: 260
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: FOS upgrade

Check with

firmwaredownloadstatus

and report status here

GK
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: FOS upgrade

its says.. firmwaredownload in progress.. it will take 10min..

This message is being for days..

Super Contributor
Posts: 635
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: FOS upgrade

Are you able to run the firmwareCommit command?

Regards,

Andreas

GK
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: FOS upgrade

when i run firmwarecommit.. it gives segmentation fault... not able to to do anything, but switch is working fine

switch06:admin> firmwarecommit
Segmentation fault

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: FOS upgrade

GK,

operand e.g. -X are only available if you have start the "firmwaredownload" with operand command.

the error show to me you have interrupt or power cycle during Upgrade.

try firmwaredownload command now without operand, if the download is Failed now, you must replace the switch.

If you are satisfied with the responses please mark as 'Answered'.
If not, just let me know I can see to get more info.
I would appreciated if you rate the threads.

Thank you. 

GK
Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-12-2010

Re: FOS upgrade

I tried the same.. with firmwaredownload.. getting the message as given below..

----------------------------

Checking system settings for firmwaredownload...
Sanity check failed because firmwareDownload is already in progress.

----------------------------

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: FOS upgrade

Then you have to replace the switch.

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: FOS upgrade

ir u able to ping ur SW? is NW connection ok?

even if u r not able to do the FOS upgrade/downgrade it will work as previous FOS is there.I think the other partition is not updated with the new one.

escalate the same to ur SW vendor asap.

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: FOS upgrade

@hemant,

--->>> ir u able to ping ur SW? is NW connection ok?

GK is able tro login to the switch, tried diverse command like firmwaredownload and firmwarecommit, etc... this say the switch is alive, and Network is ok.

The reason of unknown FOS, is the result of broken a firmwaredownload procedure like power cycle, or switch power off/on

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook