Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-08-2008

Extended Fabric, Long Distance and ISL R_RDY protocols - How to?

Hi all,

we are trying to setup a switch to switch connection through DWDM. Each site has a Brocade 4900 and a Nortel DWDM.

We bought the Extended Fabric License for both switches, and I am getting confused between the following 2 commands:

portCfgISLMode : enables or disables ISL R_RDY mode on a port

portCfgLongDistance (Extended fabric license required) : configures a port for long distance links

Can someone explain the differences between these 2 commands? It looks like I need ISL R_RDY enabled and portCfgLongDistance enabled too.

Note that fabric.ops.mode.longDistance is set to 0 (e.g. disabled)

Thanks a lot for your help.

I will update this post once it's working !

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Extended Fabric, Long Distance and ISL R_RDY protocols - How to?

Alex,

do you have the Port Distance correct set ?

TechHelp24

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-08-2008

Re: Extended Fabric, Long Distance and ISL R_RDY protocols - How to?

Hi,

the distance is approx. but alright. I implemented some changes on the week end and it looks to be working, but it does not really help me understanding the whole picture.

I enable the portcfgISLMode and the two 4900 are now linked together. (with long distance extended fabric too).

thanks

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-08-2008

Re: Extended Fabric, Long Distance and ISL R_RDY protocols - How to?

Ok, so we enabled both the ISL Mode and the extended fabric Long Distance Mode and it worked !! !!

Which is not really answering my initial question but at least it's fixed.

I just hope we did not pay the extended fabric for nothing.

Many thanks

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Extended Fabric, Long Distance and ISL R_RDY protocols - How to?

Alex,

--->>> I just hope we did not pay the extended fabric for nothing.

Do you have more than 10KM beetwen both Location ?

If the answer is yes, you need a Extended Fabric.

If no is the answer in their question correct....

....you pay this License for nothing.

TechHelp24

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-24-2007

Re: Extended Fabric, Long Distance and ISL R_RDY protocols - How to?

Verify that the license is active, and you sw id's must be set to a different value.

and configure the e-port with (portcfglongdistance). I 'm using nortel 5200, otr 2.5g cards.

I set my port at 2g, and my LS at 110Miles

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.