Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

Errors every 30 minutes

I get the following errors every 30 minutes between 2 of my fibre channel switches:

A fibre channel port changed its operational state, Port 18 (12) changed operational state to Online

A fibre channel port changed its operational state, Port 10 (a) changed operational state to Online

A fibre channel port changed its operational state, Port 18 (12) changed operational state to Offline

A fibre channel port changed its operational state, Port 10 (a) changed operational state to Offline

Any ideas on troubleshooting this?

Thanks,

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: Errors every 30 minutes

Hi jenniferm

If you login into your switches via CLI and type the following command "porterrshow"

and paste the output here we should be able to help you out.

Regards

David

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: Errors every 30 minutes

Also a "supportshow"  would be good.

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Errors every 30 minutes

check the port status through portshow and portlogdump, also these few commands may help you:

porterrshow                Print port error summary
portflagsshow              Display the port status bitmaps of all ports in a
portlogconfigshow          Display portlog configuration
portlogdump                Print port log (no page breaks)
portlogeventshow           Display information about port log events
portloginshow              Display port login information
portlogshow                Print port activity log
portlogshowport            Print port activity log
portperfshow               Print port throughput numbers
portrouteshow              Display various routing tables for a port
portshow                   Show configured ip interfaces/routes/arp entries on
portstats64show            Display the 64-bit hardware statistics for a port
portstatsshow              Print hardware statistics
porttestshow               Retreive information from porttest.

for more of the usage, pls do a help of these cmnds specially the highlighted ones.

Pls find attached the pdf for help.

If you find these will help you pls make the thread correct

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

Re: Errors every 30 minutes

Thanks for your response.  The porterrshow and support show output is attached.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-09-2005

Re: Errors every 30 minutes

Do you use DCFM 10.3.x ?

If yes, set the fabric to "unmonitored" or stop the DCFM-Server for few hours.

If the offline/online errors are gone then upgrade to 10.4.0.

There is a nice bug described in the releasenotes.

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Errors every 30 minutes

do u find any error in errdump?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

Re: Errors every 30 minutes

I am using 10.4 but I have stopped the server for now.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: Errors every 30 minutes

Hi jenniferm

But the looks of it what ever you have plugged into port 17 & 18 has an issue.

Try and change the SPF's in the switch and in the HBAs (if you can swap them out)

Clear the stats on the two ports with the following command.

"portstatsclear portnumber"

And keep monitoring it.

Regards

David

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎02-27-2008

Re: Errors every 30 minutes

BTW worse case is you might have to replace the fiber cables if your still reciveing the error messages after you have replaced the SFPs

David

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook