Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2013

Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

Hello,

I'd like to know what are the acceptable limits for the ratio between frames / frame error?

The fabos is 6.4.3d.

Thank you for your return.

Capture.PNG

Capture_1.PNG

Regards

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

Switching to the advanced view will produce a better split of the errors.

That said the statistics from the bottom screenie don't look good, however it's hard to tell what could be the cause.

Please clear the port statistics, wait an X amoun of time depending on the traffic and take some screenies, or post the portstats(64)show output.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2013

Re: Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

Hi

,

I have reset all port and 72 hour later I have just one port who have error.

What do you think about this values :

  3:  654.3m 260.2m   0      0      0      0      0      0      5.1k   0      0 

Capture.PNG

It's an ESX server on this port.

Regard

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎01-28-2010

Re: Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

portshow on the port

portstatsshow too

and you might wanna show us the error details tab?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2013

Re: Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

Hello Sorry !

portshow 3

Capture.PNG

portstatsshow 3

Capture.PNG

what do you think about this result ?

Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-05-2011

Re: Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

Hi,

just another question:

from the TX Buffer Zero,  it looks like you have a long distance here.

Is there any long distance equipment e.g DWDM or so between your switches?

THX

Uli

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 80
Registered: ‎01-28-2010

Re: Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

what switch type is that?

do the following

statsclear on the switch

then reissue the portstatsshow command like every 1-2 seconds and see if the counter time_txcrd_z increases and if yes, with what rate does it do that?

issue portcfgshow (portnumber) just want to see the fillword setting and ifts set correct. check with the hba vendor what fillword setting has to be applied to the port

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2013

Re: Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

Schlegel, the port number 3 is connected directly to a ESX server, the optical cable is between the optical sw and the server is 5 ft ( 1,5 meter).

Sorry but what mean : "e.g DWDM" ?

Doges, The type of switch is Brocade 300, IBM vendor.

After clearing stats, tim_txcrd_z increase around 10 000 every sec.

portcfgshow 3 retun this value :

Fill Word:                3(A-A then SW I-A)

On an other switch with the same configuration connected, I have no error and the port have the same configuration. Althought the tim_txcrd_z stay at 0.

You say I must call the vendor (DELL ? emulex fc card Or VMWare ?)  to get the fillword setting ?

Thank for your help

Edit :

If it can help all the error are classified like this :

Capture.PNG

Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-05-2011

Re: Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

ah ok, i thought, it might be a long distance ISL..

Thanks

Uli

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-01-2013

Re: Error rate between frame ok and error frame in Fiber sw

Yes the ISL is long distance :

260 meter, whith 50/125 monomod OM2 fiber. The ports are forced in 2 GB to respect the distances capacity.    

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook