Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-14-2005

Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

When I create a new configuration and try to apply it (using the web administration interface), a warning pops up that says that a disruption MAY occur.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 178
Registered: ‎08-08-2003

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

We enable zone configs all the time during normal production operations. We have never had any disruption due to enabling a new zone config. You shouldn't have to sut anything down.

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-07-2003

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

I would agree. the level of impact is different dependent on the switch model and version of fabric OS you are running.Just as a rule of thumb I wait 10 min between changes on one fabric and the next.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-14-2005

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

Plumber,Thanks

Contributor
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎09-16-2003

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

I have never seen a re-login by applying a zone config on Fabric OS 2.3 to 2.6.x... (as soon as the change does not affect running servers... <!graemlin::D>)

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-07-2003

Re: Enabling a new config is disruptive or not?

I'm not sure on 3.1.3. for me old gear is the 1 gig product line which runs the 2.x OS, new stuff is the 2 gig line of switches running 4.x.hope this helps

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Download FREE NVMe eBook