Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor
Accepted Solution

Data Stored on Brocade 48000 Chassis

Hello,

I am hoping you can help me. I work for a data wiping company and we have a lot of Brocade 48000 directors. We have successfully managed to wipe those which have the CP management cards but on occasion we get some which are faulty. Can you please tell me what information would be stored on the chassis itself, from what research I have done there is a chassis IP and switchname, is there anything else?

Also, is there anyway to wipe this data without having the management cards, or is there some kind of internal flash that can be removed to wipe any data.

Sorry for the vague questions I am by no means an expert on the hardware or software.

Really appreciate any help you can give.

External Moderator

Re: Data Stored on Brocade 48000 Chassis

Hi,

al Director Class Switches, fit TWO CP= Control Processor.

If one is faulty, the second Standby become Active.

config and License are saved on both Active and Standby CP.

The chassis itself without CP don't save such information, with other word, without CP all Info are lost.

TechHelp24
New Contributor

Thanks for your answer, to test this I have set a switchname in the webtools with only one CP inserted in the chassis, I have then powered down the entire unit, removed that CP and inserted another CP. The switchname is still present, this is what makes me believe something is stored within the chassis itself.

Valued Contributor

that's an interesting fact.
you said: "I have set a switchname in the webtools with only one CP inserted in the chassis"
let me clarify this: did this chassis contain at least one port blade in addition to one CP blade?
Valued Contributor