Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎08-22-2008

DS-4100 FW 6.4.3.0 & 200E FW 6.2.2e connectivity

Hello

    Just setup two DS4100-32 port 4GB Switches, they are connected together using the ISL, All working fine, But I want to connect one of the spare 200e 16 port switches that is in another comms room at the otherend of the building, to make it a 3 switch fabric,

 

the connection I was going to try and do was Unit-1 -> Unit-2 -> Unit-3 ( 200e )

 

But the problem I seem to have is that I connect the 200E back to Unit 1 set the ISL up, but it does not see the 3rd switch. when you run islshow Smiley Surprisedn the 200E

 1: 15->    (incompatible)

 

The 200e has no config on it, I was hoping that the 200e would get its config from the DS-4100 or at least some of it.

the all have different domain ID's and one of the DS-4100's is the principal switch

 

When you run islhow on the DS-4100:

 1: 27-> 27 10:00:00:05:1e:04:26:d7   2 MicBroc_DS_4100 sp:  4.000G bw:  4.000G ( this is to the other DS-4100 )
 2: 31->    (incompatible)

 

Is this down to the FW difference ?

 

Or is there som other config change on either the ds-4100 or the 200e ?

Any help or advice welcome

many thanksSmiley Happy

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: DS-4100 FW 6.4.3.0 & 200E FW 6.2.2e connectivity

Hi,

 

Could you paste the output of portcfgshow <port> for the isl ports?

Could you also post the message obtained in errdump?

Do the 3 switchs have the same interopmode?

 

I think that the fos version should not be an issue here.

 

Rgds

Contributor
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎08-22-2008

Re: DS-4100 FW 6.4.3.0 & 200E FW 6.2.2e connectivity

Hi thanks for the reply

    I have sorted the issue out it seems the Fabric segments because the 200e has a hidden zone configuration (no access) activated and the 4100 pair has an explicit zone configuration activated.

When you disable a CFG the defaultzone takes effect

Type ‘defzone – show’

Normally cfgdisable,  cfgclear, cfgsave will normally do it…. and the switch will join but in this case it did not want to play

 

So on the 200e I set the defzone --allaccess, enabled the switch and it joined the fabric, all is now working

Not sure if this is the correct way of doing it but its worked

Smiley Very Happy

AVAGO

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: DS-4100 FW 6.4.3.0 & 200E FW 6.2.2e connectivity

Please be aware that with defzone --allaccess allows a free for all fabric should the zoning config be disabled erased etc.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.