Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-05-2010

DCX Switch blades in inhibited state.

Hi all!

 

I have a Brocade DCX Backbone Director that have 4 Logical switchs, witch 4 Blades Switch (slot 3,4,9 and 10).

In the 9 and 10 blades, have a conection between an Oracle Rac running on 4 blades Hitachi Symphony2000 with Linux RHEL 5.3, and a Oracle Database 10G in a USVP Hitachi Storage. 

Suddenly, the database became inaccessible. We find that both Switch blades in Slots 9 and 10, wich are the ones that connect the DB witch the Hitachi Blades, were in state "inhibited". ( The switch yellow lights were lit sequentially from the bottom up)

The solution was to do a dummy (remove and reinsert switches).

The question is: what is the reason why the switches were inhibited? We find no record in the logs that indicate any error that causes this condition. Someone has had this experience and  can give me an idea of what can cause this condition?

Thank you very much!

 

Cesar

Valued Contributor
Posts: 555
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: DCX Switch blades in inhibited state.

[ Edited ]

hi Cesar, could you please share the supportsave from the problem switch?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 555
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: DCX Switch blades in inhibited state.

i think you can send it using dropbox or any other similar file sharing service
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-05-2010

Re: DCX Switch blades in inhibited state.

Alexey, 

 

I try to send two Supportsaves, but there is an error on the Page.

I send you a Link to a google Drive, where there are 3 supportsave files. One ( supportsaveSDP7.tar[1].bz2) , extracted before the Dummy of the Switch blade on Slot 9, and two files ( floswfbocs1-postDummy.tar[1].bz2, supportsaveSDP7.tar[1].bz2)  extracted after de Dummy of the Switch blade of Slot 9.

This Dummy was the solution of that issue.

 

Cesar

 

 

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: DCX Switch blades in inhibited state.

Hi,

 

Once you've found the cause for this behavior, please, share it with the rest of the community 'cause I personally had never seen that error.

 

rgds

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-05-2010

Re: DCX Switch blades in inhibited state.

Hi Felipon,

don't worry about.

Hi Alexey, I still not finished of collecting the information you need. 

 

Regards

Cesar

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-05-2010

Re: DCX Switch blades in inhibited state.

Hi Alexey, 

 

i don´t remember that you need any other data for this case, can you refresh mi mind about?

Very thanks for your help!

 

Cesar

External Moderator
Posts: 5,030
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: DCX Switch blades in inhibited state.

Cesar,

 

--->>>The question is: what is the reason why the switches were inhibited?

 

I think, this error is caused due a Frame Collision caused by send/data transport from Hitachi Blade Switch to DCX, beetwen the same blade.

 

i would suggest if the error persist, to open a call with Brocade or Hitachi.

 

additional I would check if yboth DCX and Hitachi Blade Switch, have compatible FOS release.

 

 

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook