Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-25-2010

Connecting brocade 7500 to Cisco L2 Switch

Hi
I have a pair of brocade 7500 E switches. I have configured the VE ports to run FCIP. It is working fine as long as I connect back to back.
But When I connect my Broacde ge1 port to Cisco L2 Switch, ge1 port shows online but VE did not comes up.
any suggestions.
J
Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Connecting brocade 7500 to Cisco L2 Switch

Brocade ge1 should be connected to LAN Sw and in this case u have Cisco

<<as I connect back to back.>>

What do u mean by back to back.

I think you must have created FCIP tunnel, configuring VE ports.

it should show u like this:

switchshow
switchName:     FINWARE75_01
switchType:     46.2
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Principal
switchDomain:   2
switchId:       fffc02
switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:1e:55:c4:ea
zoning:         ON (FINWR_REPL1)
switchBeacon:   OFF
FC Router:      OFF
FC Router BB Fabric ID: 1

Area Port Media Speed State     Proto
=====================================
  0   0   id    N4   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:05:6f:f9:21
  1   1   id    N4   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:05:6f:f9:25
  2   2   id    N4   No_Light
  3   3   id    N4   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:05:6f:f9:22
  4   4   id    N2   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:04:76:d8:19
  5   5   id    N2   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:04:76:d8:49
  6   6   id    N4   No_Light         Disabled (Persistent)
  7   7   id    N4   No_Light         Disabled (Persistent)
  8   8   id    N4   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:05:6e:c6:08
  9   9   id    N4   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:05:6e:c6:28
10  10   id    N4   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:05:6e:c6:02
11  11   id    N4   No_Light         Disabled (Persistent)
12  12   id    N2   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:04:76:d8:69
13  13   id    N2   Online           F-Port  50:06:0e:80:04:76:d8:68
14  14   id    N4   No_Light         Disabled (Persistent)
15  15   id    N4   No_Light         Disabled (Persistent)
16  16   --    --   Online           VE-Port  10:00:00:05:1e:55:ce:56 "FINWARE75_02" (downstream)
17  17   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
18  18   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
19  19   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
20  20   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
21  21   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
22  22   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
23  23   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
24  24   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
25  25   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
26  26   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
27  27   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
28  28   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
29  29   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
30  30   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
31  31   --    --   Offline          Disabled (Persistent)
    ge0  id    1G   Online    FCIP
     ge1  id    1G   Online    FCIP

Now show us here the output of switchshow

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-25-2010

Re: Connecting brocade 7500 to Cisco L2 Switch

Hello Hemant

Thanks for your response.

here is my setup.

FC Source connected to Brocade switch 1 and 2 on port 0.

I have created fcip interface and tunnel on Brocade switch 1 and switch 2 on   ge0 and ge1.

connected brocade ge1 to second brocade ge1.

connected brocade ge0 to second brocade ge0

Both link and fcip tunnel is up and traffic is going through. .

I have removed the Brocade ge1 port and connected to Cisco switch.

ge link is up , but tunnel is not coming up.

BROC66:admin> switchshow
switchName:     BROC66
switchType:     46.2
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Native
switchRole:     Principal
switchDomain:   1
switchId:       fffc01
switchWwn:      10:00:00:05:1e:37:88:8d
zoning:         ON (CIENA_Config)
switchBeacon:   OFF
FC Router:      OFF
FC Router BB Fabric ID: 1
Address Mode:   0

Index Port Address Media Speed State     Proto
==============================================
  0   0   010000   id    N2   Online      FC  F-Port  10:00:00:00:00:01:00:01
  1   1   010100   id    4G   No_Light    FC
  2   2   010200   id    N4   No_Light    FC
  3   3   010300   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
  4   4   010400   id    N4   No_Light    FC
  5   5   010500   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
  6   6   010600   --    N4   No_Module   FC
  7   7   010700   --    N4   No_Module   FC
  8   8   010800   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
  9   9   010900   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
10  10   010a00   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
11  11   010b00   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
12  12   010c00   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
13  13   010d00   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
14  14   010e00   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
15  15   010f00   --    N4   No_Module   FC  Disabled (Persistent)
16  16   011000   --    --   Online      VE  VE-Port  10:00:00:05:1e:37:8f:29 "BROC67
17  17   011100   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
18  18   011200   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
19  19   011300   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
20  20   011400   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
21  21   011500   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
22  22   011600   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
23  23   011700   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
24  24   011800   --    --   Offline     VE
25  25   011900   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
26  26   011a00   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
27  27   011b00   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
28  28   011c00   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
29  29   011d00   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
30  30   011e00   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
31  31   011f00   --    --   Offline     VE  Disabled (Persistent)
     ge0  id    1G   Online    FCIP
     ge1  id    1G   Online    FCIP

do i have to configure any specific parameters on cisco like flow control, auto neg etc.

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Connecting brocade 7500 to Cisco L2 Switch

jiqbal,

is all very simple

--->>> But When I connect my Broacde ge1 port to Cisco L2 Switch....

Is the Cisco FCIP Capable ?

And the answer is surely i't is Not.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-25-2010

Re: Connecting brocade 7500 to Cisco L2 Switch

So if i have to connect brocade " ge"  port to any L2 switch, that switch has to support FCIP  ?

do we need special L2 switch or router to connect Brocade FCIP SAN switches ?

appreciate your response.

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Connecting brocade 7500 to Cisco L2 Switch

I'll try to find some DOC and upload here by tomorrow.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-25-2010

Re: Connecting brocade 7500 to Cisco L2 Switch

Thanks

Looking forward to that

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Connecting brocade 7500 to Cisco L2 Switch

see, first you must have created tunnel without giving  CISCO SW IPs to route the traffic through CISCO router. pls confirm the same.

If not then you have to create the new tunnel providing cisco router's IPs through portcfg ipif and portcfg iproute.

Also from cisco router side the network admins have to set up something. Discuss with them providing ur FCIP routers IPs and details o fFCIP port. we have CISCO 7513 here and we do not have any issue with FCIP tunnel.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook