Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-24-2010

Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

Hi All,

Sorry for asking a dump question.

We have the following setup.

01) Brocade5000 (Kernel:     2.4.19     / Fabric OS:  v5.2.1)

02) SUN, SAN Router Family, Eclipse 1620 ( 5.1.2.EF - Enterprise iFCP Software)

We need to connect the Brocade5000 to SAN Router(1620), We actually linked two. In the Brocade5000 port, it is not recognizing the wwn, port becomes a G_port and then down (looping)

Do we need to configure the 1620 port with a special setting?

I still could not find a document with proper compatibility information as well.

Experienced candidate may help me in this.

Thank you for the time.



Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

--->>>We have the following setup.

01) Brocade5000 ...Fabric OS:  v5.2.1

I assume you have 5.2.1_NI or NI1

please check and confirm the exact release.

5.2.1 is not supported by Brocade 5000

If you are unsure about Exact Switch Model, try "switchshow" from the command line, and post here the Switch Type.

Aruna,

sorry, i have confused here somothing.

5000 is supported by 5.2.1.

Is the 5000 confugured in Brocade Native Mode or in Interop-Mode ?

Update: ABBA-SYSTEMS

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-24-2010

Re: Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

Hi,

Thank you for the quick reply.

Is the 5000 confugured in Brocade Native Mode or in Interop-Mode ?

It is currently in "Native Mode".

This switch is used only for www zoning. No other features used.

Setting the switch to "Interop-Mode" will suffice ?

Any other setting in McDATA 1620 ?

Thank you

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

aruna,

--->>> This switch is used only for www zoning.

I assume you mean WWN ? and not www

Zoning based on node WWNs is not supported by the SAN routers.
To maintain interoperability between the Eclipse fabric and third-party Fibre
Channel fabrics, please configure “soft” zoning on the Fibre Channel fabric
using world-wide port names of devices instead of world-wide node names.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-24-2010

Re: Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

Hi,

Sorry for the typo. Yes it is WWN

my config is as below,

portzoneshow:

PORT: 0 (0)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020001

PORT: 1 (1)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020002

PORT: 2 (2)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020005

PORT: 3 (3)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020007

PORT: 4 (4)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020000

PORT: 5 (5)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020003

PORT: 6 (6)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020006

PORT: 7 (7)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020004

PORT: 8 (8)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020009

PORT: 9 (9)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x4302000d

PORT: 10 (10)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x4302000c

PORT: 11 (11)   Offline

PORT: 12 (12)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020008

PORT: 13 (13)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x4302000b

PORT: 14 (14)   Offline

PORT: 15 (15)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x4302000a

PORT: 16 (16)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020010

PORT: 17 (17)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020013

PORT: 18 (18)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020014

PORT: 19 (19)   Offline

PORT: 20 (20)   F-Port Enforcement: HARD WWN defaultHard: 0 IFID: 0x43020015

PORT: 21 (21)   Offline

PORT: 22 (22)   Offline

PORT: 23 (23)   Offline

PORT: 24 (24)   Offline

PORT: 25 (25)   Offline

PORT: 26 (26)   Offline

PORT: 27 (27)   Offline

PORT: 28 (28)   Offline

PORT: 29 (29)   Offline

PORT: 30 (30)   Offline

PORT: 31 (31)   G-Port

-----------------------------------------------

Before zoning I need to see the two ports (Brocade5000 Port31 and McDATA1620 Port2) linked up. they are still looping from G_Port to Nosignal.

Do I have to put the Brocade 5000 into Interoperability mode ?



Thank you

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

Fabric OS 5.2.1 and Brocade 5000 are not supported by E/OSi 5.1.x

FOS 5.2.0a is / would supported by E/OSi 5.1.x but the 5000 don't support this FOS Release.

Workaround.

In order to Interoperate with the Eclipse Router, you must Upgrade the 5000 to Fabric OS v5.2.1_NI1

This FOS Release supported E/OSi 4.x and 5.1.x

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-24-2010

Re: Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

Hi


Sorry to trouble again.


We have got "Brocade FOS 6.1.0h firmware". Still to upgrade Brocade 5000.


Will this support with  E/OSi 4.x ?


I am assuming following steps,


01           Upgrade the Brocade 5000 to a compatible version

02           Set the Brocade 5000 into Interop mode.

03           Connect the McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

04                Do the zoning



Thank You



Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

NO, is not supported.

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

just as update.

I've check diverse DOC, Fabric OS 6.2.x support E/OSi 5.1.2 and 5.3.0, with follow restriction.

See note below:

For Multi-Protocol router interop, FOS-based switches deployed in M-EOS fabrics should not be
directly connected (via ISLs) to the M1620 / M2640 products, but rather attached to other MEOSc/n
switches and directors (M6140s, 4700s, Mi10ks, etc) running in McDATA Fabric
Mode/Interopmode 2. McDATA Open Fabric Mode /Interopmode 3 is supported only with MEOSi
v5.3.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-24-2010

Re: Connecting McDATA 1620 to Brocade 5000

I need to limit the variables

Let say now I am happy with following two firmware.



  • Brocade 5000 - Fabric OS:  v5.2.1_ni1

  • McDATA 1620 - 5.1.2.EF - Enterprise iFCP Software

Will these two versions support each other?

If yes,

I have another worry, my Brocade 5000 is currently having “Fabric OS:  v5.2.1” and an active configuration in production.

Will “configupload” and “configfdownload” be an option for faster config recovery after upgrading the Brocade 5000 from Fabric OS:  v5.2.1 to Fabric OS:  v5.2.1_ni1 ?

I could not find the administration guide for “Fabric OS:  v5.2.1_ni1”. So I am not sure what is going to happen if I upgrade my Brocade 5000.

Any bright ideas for me, Admin guide location will be a great help too.

Thanks



Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook