Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor

Connect Brocade fabrics together

Hi,

First of all, I apoligize if this is not the correct forum to ask this question. I think it is the correct one, but I may be wrong.

I am no expert in fabrics switches, but I do want to learn more and this is why I am posting here.

We have 2 IBM BlaceCenter H with 1 Brocade Fabrics IO in each. The 2 BladeCenter are not in the same physical location. There is about 5KM between them. We use these BladeCenter for VMware mostly. Each BladeCenter is connected to an IBM DS3400 through the Brocade fabrics switches.

We would like to connect both Brocades through mono fiber. Once both Brocades are connected together, the VMware hosts from the Site A will be able to talk directly to the SAN in Site B and vice versa. We will then be able to do a Storage VMotion without powering off the VM.

While we are waiting for the Mono SFPs to arrive, I am doing some researches on how we will be able to connect my 2 Brocades together. I have come accross some tutorials talking about Full-Mesh and Core-Edge. See this tutorial here : How to merge two Brocade fabrics - NetworkAdminKB.com

From what I have read, I need to have a Fabrics license on both Brocades. I have confirmed that. I also read about the Extended Fabrics license, which I believe is required if the distance between both switches is greater than 10KM. Our fiber run is about 5KM so I don't think we will require an Extended Fabrics license.