Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎05-19-2009

Configuring a DCX and Virtual Wisdom

 

 

We then attempted to configure the switch in Virtual Wisdom the configuration fails with a null error.

 

snmpwalk on the DCX shows the mib not returning anything from the 1.3.6.1.2.1.3 section:

 

visvc@viportal:~> snmpwalk -v 3 -l noAuthNoPriv -u snmpuser1 10.94.96.47 1.3.6.1.3 -O n a8cdef201
.1.3.6.1.3 = No Such Object available on this agent at this OID

 

Anyone know what this means?

 

Thanks.

 

Wayne

Broadcom Moderator
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎03-29-2010

Re: Configuring a DCX and Virtual Wisdom

You didn't provide your FOS version, so I guessed. Here's the entry for 7.4.0:

 

 

Object group name            OID                              Supported

 

at                                    1.3.6.1.2.1.3                   No
 
 
NOTE:   Implementation of the Address Translation group is
mandatory for all systems. However, that this group
is deprecated by MIB-II. From MIB-II onward, each
network protocol group contains its own address
translation tables.
 
 
This is/was the OID for addr translation. It is deprecated. If you will provide the FOS version, I'll try to look up the MIB ref for you.
 
Sorry....
doc

Any and all information provided by me is for entertainment value and should not be relied upon as a guaranteed solution or warranty of mechantability. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a concern about data loss, or network disconnection, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, Please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".

Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎05-19-2009

Re: Configuring a DCX and Virtual Wisdom

They are running FOS 7.4.1d.

Broadcom Moderator
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎03-29-2011

Re: Configuring a DCX and Virtual Wisdom

Hi,

 

Try the system group which all systems need to support, e.g.

 

snmpwalk -v 3 -l noAuthNoPriv -u snmpuser1 10.94.96.47 1.3.6.1.2.1.1  -O n a8cdef201

 

if no reply, please provide the snmpconfig --show snmpv3 please




If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".


Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎05-19-2009

Re: Configuring a DCX and Virtual Wisdom

Please find the output.

 

lwlksan1:$ snmpwalk -v 3 -l noAuthNoPriv -u snmpuser1 10.94.96.47 1.3.6.1.2.1.1  -O n a8cdef201

.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.1.0 = STRING: Fibre Channel Switch.

.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0 = OID: .1.3.6.1.4.1.1588.2.1.1.62

.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0 = Timeticks: (166548800) 19 days, 6:38:08.00

.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.4.0 = STRING: Field Support.

.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.5.0 = STRING: b8rtpa201

.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.6.0 = STRING: End User Premise.

.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.7.0 = INTEGER: 79

lwlksan1:$

Highlighted
Broadcom Moderator
Posts: 455
Registered: ‎03-29-2011

Re: Configuring a DCX and Virtual Wisdom

Hi,

 

so you can query the switch correctly. Now, it might be that you need add a context with FID for any logical switches (-n "VF:<fid>") if you are using virtual fabrics ... 




If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".


Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook