Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

I need to perform the following and need guidance / white papers on how to accomplish this.  Much published articles available cover how to uplink a Nexus to a Cisco MDS switch (of course); however, after several days of searching, I have come up empty handed.

Can anyone provide sample configurations on how to accomplish the following?

vSphere update 1 server with two Emulex LP21002-C CNA adpaters --> Two Cisco Nexus 5020 switches --> Two Brocade DS 5100s --> EMC CX4-240 SAN.

Thank you in advance!

External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

Trough a Fibre Channel expansion Module fit in the Nexus 5020, can you ISL beetwen the Cisco and Brocade 5100.

This is the only way to Uplink to the Brocade 5100.

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

James,

just a stupid question:

is here a reason why they use this Mixed hardware Environments CISCO - Brocade ?

Why they don't use the Brocade 8000 FCoE Switches with the Brocade 5100 ?

Thanks for feedback.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

Hello TechHelp,

You asked why we didn't go with a Brocade 8000.  The answer is simple:  in an organization, does FCOE implementation fall under the Networking group or the Server/Storage group?  In our case, it fell under the Networking group. They went with Cisco.

Can you provide any guidance / whitepaper /documentation on how to connect a DS 5100 to a Cisco Nexus 5020?  In passing, Cisco mentioned that msplmgmtdeactivate command must be used on the Brocade switch in order to connect it to the Nexus switch.

I'm looking for a document that doesn't mention configuration recommendations "in passing"; rather one that is comprehensive and authoritative.

Thanks.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

Follow-up question:  We will not be able to purchase a Brocade license for ISL Trunking until the fall, and need to get FCOE implementation immediately underway.  Is ISL Trunking a mandatory requirement?  Or can we get away with simply using ISL for now?

Thanks.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

--->>> Is ISL Trunking a mandatory requirement?

NO. you can create a simple ISL, no Trunking is requiered, but as mentioned you need in th 5020 a FC Module.

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

--->>> Can you provide any guidance / whitepaper /documentation on how to connect a DS 5100 to a Cisco Nexus 5020?

I'm not familiary with the Cisco 50x0 Series Switches, and i don't know from Brocade any available whitepaper or other DOC,

but according the Cisco NX-OS SAN Config Guide, that show very simple.

I have begun to create here in the community a Wiki/DOC

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,046
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

--->>> In passing, Cisco mentioned that msplmgmtdeactivate command must be used on the Brocade switch in order to connect it to the Nexus switch.

This is confused, because according the NX-OS SAN Switching Configuration Guide is a Note in the Step "Configuring Interop Mode 1"

Brocade’s msplmgmtdeactivate command must explicitly be run prior to connecting
from a Brocade switch to either Cisco Nexus 5000 Series switches or to McData switches.
This command uses Brocade proprietary frames to exchange platform information,
which Cisco Nexus 5000 Series switches or McData switches do not understand.
Rejecting these frames causes the common E ports to become isolated.

I Believe Interop Mode 1 is a Cisco Native Mode, and cannot operate with other Vendor, so I'm confused about the command.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-23-2010

Re: Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

Here is a Visio diagram of the configuration topology to clearly illustrate what I'm trying to accomplish.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-17-2008

Re: Cisco Nexus 5020 Uplink to Brocade DS 5100

Use NPV on Nexus 5020 and Access Gateway feature from Brocade 5100. This making Nexus a passive box and making 5100 the main box.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook