Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-23-2015
Accepted Solution

Can we use existing 2Gbpc GBICs on new DCX PORT BLADES

A customer is goig to replace old 48000 Directors with new 8510 (48P blades)

He is asking if he can use the old 2 Gb GBICs with the new Director

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Can we use existing 2Gbpc GBICs on new DCX PORT BLADES

are no supported.

 

what is the reason you want to use 2g SFP ?

 

 

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Can we use existing 2Gbpc GBICs on new DCX PORT BLADES

--->>>......replace old 48000 Directors with new 8510 (48P blades)

 

FYI.

 

Brocade delivered NEW DCX-8510 and all blade full populated with SFP.

 

 

TechHelp24
Valued Contributor
Posts: 547
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Can we use existing 2Gbpc GBICs on new DCX PORT BLADES

From what I remember, 16G ASIC port has to be populated with either 4/8/16G SFP (the one that would be normally shipped with that kind of blades) or with the 2/4/8G SFP (the one that would normally fit the previous generation switches). Oh, 10G linerate should also be somehow available, but I've never used this kind of connections so I can't tell how this should be done.
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Can we use existing 2Gbpc GBICs on new DCX PORT BLADES

Alexey,

 

on DCX-8510 FC16-xx Blades, you can set the port speed when 8G SFP+ is inserted at 2G, but native 2G SFP i.e. XBR-000075 are not supported!!!

 

TechHelp24
Valued Contributor
Posts: 547
Registered: ‎03-20-2011

Re: Can we use existing 2Gbpc GBICs on new DCX PORT BLADES

Right, this is exactly what I meant. The "slowest" supported SFP has to be 2/4/8G model.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.