Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-08-2015

Can not use ping command for FOS 3.2.1b

Hi

 

Can not work ping command for FOS 3.2.1b, How to use Ping Command switch to server.

 

Model :- 3534-F08

fabric os :- 3.2.1b

 

Thank you

 

Asanka Sanjeewa

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Can not use ping command for FOS 3.2.1b

Not sure what you want to/or mean with "ping" ????

 

This Plattforms and FOS is no longer supported, if you want to ping the FC port, as fair as I remember, the command "fcping" was not supported in FOS 3.x

 

 

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Can not use ping command for FOS 3.2.1b

Try with the command "fcpprobeshow"

for details/operands refer the Command Reference Manuals

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-08-2015

Re: Can not use ping command for FOS 3.2.1b

 

Hi Antonio

 

Thanks for your reply

 

I want to ping Fiber switch to destination server ip.

 

I tried fcping and ping commands.

 

ex:- fcping 192.168.100.7

 

Thank you

 

Asanka Sanjeewa

 

 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Can not use ping command for FOS 3.2.1b

I believe you confuse FC technology with IP technology.

 

from FC Switches Port you cannot Ping the Server IP or another IP Connected Devices.

 

again, first at all, fcping command is on this plattform and FOS release not supported, second you cannot send any ping request from FC port to any IP addressed device.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎10-08-2015

Re: Can not use ping command for FOS 3.2.1b

Smiley Happy Hi Antonio Thank you for the support Regards Asanka Sanjeewa

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.