Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-18-2017

CRC and PCS_ERR on a DWDM connection

If I run a D_Port test the error look like this on the different sites:

 

Site 1:

           frames      enc    crc    crc    too    too    bad    enc   disc   link   loss   loss   frjt   fbsy  c3timeout    pcs
        tx     rx      in    err    g_eof  shrt   long   eof     out   c3    fail    sync   sig                  tx    rx     err
 11:    1.0m   1.0m   0    793.3k   5      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0    105.8k

 

Site 2:

           frames      enc    crc    crc    too    too    bad    enc   disc   link   loss   loss   frjt   fbsy  c3timeout    pcs
        tx     rx      in    err    g_eof  shrt   long   eof     out   c3    fail    sync   sig                  tx    rx     err
 11:    1.0m   1.0m   0    793.3k   0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0      0

 

The 2 ports are connected with DWDM.

The main difference in the error report is the pcs_err.

 

I'm sure I have a SFP error, but I would like to share this error picture with you all. Because I see a different picture on a connection that are connected with DWDM.

 

1. I will start with changing the SFPs on the site with "PCS" errors in the brocade switch.

2. I will change the SFP in the DWDM switch.

3. If number 1 and 2 does not work I will change the cable.

 

If this does not work I will do the same on the other site.

I will try to keep you posted, please supply your experience...

External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: CRC and PCS_ERR on a DWDM connection

@JATON_1

 

--->>>I'm sure I have a SFP error, ....

 

this is possible but the reason can be another.

 

is this a NEW Installation or already in Productions ?

 

can you please post  a bit more info ?

 

- switch type/modell

 

- WDM Vendor/Modell

 

- FOS Release

 

- SFP Type, both Switch side and WDM Side

 

- what is the Distance beetwen both side ?

 

- "licenseshow" and "portcfgshow port_number" output

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-18-2017

Re: CRC and PCS_ERR on a DWDM connection

is this a NEW Installation or already in Productions ?

It is running in production 2.7 years

 

can you please post  a bit more info ?

 

- switch type/modell

switchType:     133.0

 

- WDM Vendor/Modell

Brocade 

 

- FOS Release

Fabric OS:  v7.4.1d

 

- SFP Type, both Switch side and WDM Side

Switch

Vendor Name: BROCADE
Vendor OUI:  00:05:1e
Vendor PN:   57-0000089-01

DWDM

Smartoptics will change that to brocade SFPs it is supported.

 

- what is the Distance beetwen both side ?

Estimated cable distance:       30530 meters (30.530 Km)

 

- "licenseshow" and "portcfgshow port_number" output

licenseshow
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:
    Extended Fabric license
    Fabric Watch license
    Performance Monitor license
    Trunking license
    Fabric Vision license
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:
    Full Ports on Demand license - additional 48 port upgrade license
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:
    Second Ports on Demand license - additional 24 port upgrade license

 

portcfgshow 11
Area Number:              11
Octet Speed Combo:        1(16G|8G|4G|2G)
Speed Level:              16G
AL_PA Offset 13:          OFF
Trunk Port                ON
Long Distance             LS
VC Link Init              ON
Desired Distance          90 Km
Reserved Buffers          726
Locked L_Port             OFF
Locked G_Port             OFF
Disabled E_Port           OFF
Locked E_Port             OFF
ISL R_RDY Mode            OFF
RSCN Suppressed           OFF
Persistent Disable        OFF
LOS TOV mode              0(OFF)
NPIV capability           ON
QOS Port                  OFF
Port Auto Disable:        OFF
Rate Limit                OFF
EX Port                   OFF
Mirror Port               OFF
SIM Port                  OFF
Credit Recovery           ON
F_Port Buffers            OFF
E_Port Credits            OFF
Fault Delay:              0(R_A_TOV)
NPIV PP Limit:            126
NPIV FLOGI Logout:        OFF
CSCTL mode:               OFF
TDZ mode:                 OFF
D-Port mode:              ON
D-Port over DWDM:         ON
Compression:              OFF
Encryption:               OFF
FEC:                      ON
FEC via TTS:              OFF
8G Non-DFE:               OFF(Auto)

 

It is port of a 4 port trunk all the other connections are working.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: CRC and PCS_ERR on a DWDM connection

@JATON_1

 

--->>>It is port of a 4 port trunk all the other connections are working.

 

from your first Topic was not clear that the ISL is a Trunk. Is the error occurred on the entire trunk or just only at Port 11 ?

 

additional I note, VC-Link Init is set on ON what is correct, however is the correct Mode set ?

 

did you have a Fixed buffer set on those Port ?

 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-18-2017

Re: CRC and PCS_ERR on a DWDM connection

from your first Topic was not clear that the ISL is a Trunk. Is the error occurred on the entire trunk or just only at Port 11 ?

Yes sorry :-)

And I only see errors on port 11. 

 

additional I note, VC-Link Init is set on ON what is correct, however is the correct Mode set ?

Yes VC-Link is ON mode is LS (se below)

 

did you have a Fixed buffer set on those Port ?

Yes

   8       E      LS       726      182(2056)     179(2028)         726     726        90km
   9       E      LS       726      181(2052)     176(1996)         726     726        90km
  10       E      LS       726      180(2040)     176(1996)         726     726        90km
  11              LS       726       - (  - )      - (  - )           0       -          -

 

Right now I have it in D-Port using the dwdm variable:

portcfgdport --enable -dwdm 11

 

But that is only for testing.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,029
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: CRC and PCS_ERR on a DWDM connection

Jannik,

 

at this point - as saied probable the SFP or cable is defective -

 

alternative, did you try to disable the port in question and enable again ?

 

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook