Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-22-2010

Brocade 4900 upgrade issue

Hi,

I get the following error when upgrading Broacde 4900 switch:

BTL_FCA_COR:admin> firmwaredownload
Server Name or IP Address: 10.160.41.173
FTP User Name: ponnappa
File Name: /home/ponnappa/v5.3.1a
FTP Password:
Verifying the input parameters ...
Checking system settings for firmwaredownload...
: command not found
: not a signal specification
: command not found
: command not found
: command not found
: command not found
: command not found
'tmp/preinst: line 176: syntax error near unexpected token `otherhost(){
'tmp/preinst: line 176: `otherhost(){

The current firmware is :

Kernel:     2.4.19
Fabric OS:  v5.2.0a
Made on:    Thu Oct 5 21:12:22 2006
Flash:      Tue Mar 13 11:17:12 2007
BootProm:   4.5.3

Any help i smuch appreciated.

Rgds,

Ponnappa

Super Contributor
Posts: 644
Registered: ‎03-01-2007

Re: Brocade 4900 upgrade issue

FTP must in the same IP range as the switch.

the FTP server must be pointed to: /home/ponnappa

the correct file name in order to start a upgrade procedure is: /v5.3.1a/release.plist

Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 upgrade issue

Hi, If you are using widows version then type file name through \ slash. Also pls check FTP server is properly accessible. If you will face issue. connect the console cable and do it from laptop

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-22-2010

Re: Brocade 4900 upgrade issue

Thanks to ABBA and Hemant replies.

Heres what I did.

1. FTP server does not have to be in the same subnet as the switch. It just needs to be accessible over lan without a firewall.

2. I copied the firmware folder to my home directory ;ie;/home/ponnappa/v5.3.1a. By default FTP directory point to my home directory upon my login.

3. BTL_FCA_COR:admin> firmwaredownload
     Server Name or IP Address: 10.160.41.173
     FTP User Name: ponnappa
     File Name: v5.3.1a
     FTP Password:
     Verifying the input parameters ...
     Checking system settings for firmwaredownload...
     You can run firmwaredownloadstatus to get the status
     of this command.

     .

     .

     .

     .

     ....and finally the installation completed successfully.

Rgds,

Ponnappa

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook