Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2016

Brocade 4900 switch is not booting.

Hi,
We are using a brocade 4900 switch with 48 ports activated.
Initially issue has been started from the segmentation fault.After we lost the GUI access.How ever switch have been accessed through telnet and SSH.
But it was not taking FOS related commands (ie)switchshow,fabricshow,config upload.
Then after few days the switch itself went down.All the ports in the switch showing amber and all the hosts lost their single path.
Then given hard reboot, found an error on the console 'unable to mount the file system from hda1,hda2.
Please help us to resolve this issue.

Regards
Jagan
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-08-2016

Re: Brocade 4900 switch is not booting.

Hi,
Console output pasted below.

The system is coming up, please wait...
Read board ID of 0x88 from addr 0x23

Read extended model ID of 0x1d from addr 0x22

Matched board/model ID to platform index 8


Read board ID of 0x88 from addr 0x23

Read extended model ID of 0x1d from addr 0x22

Matched board/model ID to platform index 11

Checking system RAM - press any key to stop test


Checking memory address: 00100000


System RAM test using Default POST RAM Test succeeded.


Press escape within 4 seconds to enter boot interface.

Booting "Fabric Operating System" image.

Blk map has an invalid version 0

Blk map has an invalid version 0

ThisOSLoader has an invalid magic number (0x00000000)

ThisOSLoader has an invalid magic number (0x00000000)

ATA()0x24c8f's entry point is too small (0x00000000 < 0x00100000)

Booting "Fabric Operating System" image.

Entry point at 0x01000000 ...


loading kernel


loaded at: 01000000 013C9364

board data at: 013C7324 013C7364

relocated to: 01005110 01005150

zimage at: 0100597D 0113B87E

initrd at: 0113C000 013C6C00

avail ram: 013CA000 10000000


Linux/PPC load:

BootROM command line: quiet

Uncompressing Linux...done.

Now booting the kernel

PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 2 of PCI bridge 1

PCI: Cannot allocate resource region 0 of device 0000:00:00.0

Installing Linux 2.6 Kernel
Attempting to find a root file system on hda1...
mount: Mounting /dev/hda1 on /mnt failed: No such device or address
Failed to mount hda1 as root!
Attempting to find a root file system on hda2...
mount: Mounting /dev/hda2 on /mnt failed: No such device or address
Failed to mount hda2 as root!
Failed to mount a root file system!
Both boot devices are inconsistent. You can run sbin/repairfs.sh to boot up the system. After the system is booted up, please run firmwaredownload to load the appropriate version of firmware.


BusyBox v0.60.5 (2006.06.20-01:11+0000) Built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 4900 switch is not booting.

m.jaganathan@hcl.com

 

here in community are several thread related to such a issue.

 

however I would first suggest to follow as indicated in the boot output, with a little luck you are able to recovery the boot device.

 

--->>>Both boot devices are inconsistent. You can run sbin/repairfs.sh to boot up the system. After the system is booted up, please run firmwaredownload to load the appropriate version of firmware.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.