Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-20-2010

Brocade 48000 - 'trunkshow command' Don't recognize port numbers.

Hi,

I'm trying to trunk two Brocade 48000's together. I have ports 28,29,30 & 31 plugged, however I don't recognize the below port numbers. Cans someone explain to me what is going on here?  Thanks..

  141->141 10:00:00:05:1e:38:34:04     deskew 16 MASTER
  140->140 10:00:00:05:1e:38:34:04     deskew 16
  143->143 10:00:00:05:1e:38:34:04     deskew 16
  142->142 10:00:00:05:1e:38:34:04     deskew 15
  139->139 10:00:00:05:1e:38:34:04     deskew 16

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎02-13-2010

Re: Brocade 48000 - 'trunkshow command' Don't recognize port numbers.

Hi,

That actually makes a lot of sense. If you are using blades FC8-32 or FC8-48 for example. Then what you see in the trunkshow output is actually the port index number. For what you see physically as port 28-31 is actually port index 139-143 because of the port index numbering for blades. It goes from 0-15 blade 1 until 112-127 on slot 10. Then it continues on 128-143 on slot 1 once again until 240-255 on slot 10.

Cheers!

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-20-2010

Re: Brocade 48000 - 'trunkshow command' Don't recognize port numbers.

Which would explain when trunking port 14 the index number will be the same '14'. Makes perfect now and thanks for your comment, neverdie.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook