Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎09-14-2009

Brocade 48000 fabric license

Does a brocade 48000 require a fabric license with v6.4.0b firmware or is it built in to the firmware like webtools and zoning?

Cheers....

Andy

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 48000 fabric license

Fabric License is as default installed and Part of Enterprice License by all Class Director.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎09-14-2009

Re: Brocade 48000 fabric license

let me be more specific....

I have a customer who has a BR48000 with 6.4.0b firmware installed....When they do a licenseshow, it shows " no licenses installed" . Is the fabric  license built in to the director or do they need the "enterprise bundle" to be able to connect to edge switches? It is my understanding that "enterprise bundle" gives you fabric watch, trunking, and perfromance monitor and that the fabric license is built into the firmware...

Cheers....

Andy

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 48000 fabric license

Andy,

--->>> When they do a licenseshow, it shows " no licenses installed"

Is the Director empty of License ?

Fabric License is a part or Enterprise License Bundle, which consist of

Fabric License,

Trunking,

Performance Monitor,

Fabric Watch

and - Zoning and Webtools - are Native since early FOS 6..0 rel.

If "licenseshow" command shows no licenses installed, the reason is probable  the Licenses was be removed by customer,

....or lost by Upgrade.

but such behavior / issue are unkown to me.

Try supportshow,with a little look the LIC's are stored.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎09-14-2009

Re: Brocade 48000 fabric license

Yes the director is empty of liceneses but I had the customer try to connect to an edge switch and the e-ports connect with no errors or license issues. The edge switch does have a fabric license. Based on that, i am going to assume that the fabric license on a director is bult in and the Enterprise licese adds additional  functionality to the fabric license on the director.

I have not had them do a supportshow to see if the licenses are there.....

Do you know if you can purchase just "fabric license" for a director, I don't seem to find it as an installable feature by itself?

Thanks for all your help...

Andy

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 48000 fabric license

--->>> Do you know if you can purchase just "fabric license" for a director,

Yes is available.

--->>> I don't seem to find it as an installable feature by itself?

"licenseadd" is the command to Install License.

--->>>....am going to assume that the fabric license on a director is bult in...

No, is not.

Fabric License is a Additional License.

I'll high assume the output "no licenses installed" is a Error.

If you are satisfied with the responses please mark as 'Answered'.
If not, just let me know I can see to get more info.
I would appreciated if you rate the threads.

Thank you.

TechHelp24
Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Brocade 48000 fabric license

Going forward try to get Full fabric license not xxdomain license, and for better utilization try to get trunking license.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 48000 fabric license

You are invited to read the threads carefully.

licenseshow shows "no licenses installed" that meaning the Director is empty of License.

do they know what it is a "xxdomain" license ?

--->>>...and for better utilization try to get trunking license.

Trunking License is Bundle in Enterprise License Bundle by all Brocade Class Director's

TechHelp24
Super Contributor
Posts: 425
Registered: ‎03-03-2010

Re: Brocade 48000 fabric license

Note: he has an edge SW also. In this forum, peopls should know about xxdomain license, many vendors do not provide full fabric license, to make a fool of customers. This is my practical experiences.

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 48000 fabric license

The question and Issue is:

--->>> Does a brocade 48000 require a fabric license with v6.4.0b firmware or is it built in to the firmware like webtools and zoning?

Definition of Edge Switch = Is a Switch / Director  in the Fabric, and this not change the situation that the 48000 is Empty of License.

BTW, Domain License 2 and 4, was never available for Director's.

This was only available by 3200, 3800, 3250, and 3850.

The Brocade 200E was available as Value Line for Single Standalone

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.