Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-25-2017

Brocade 300 and NPIV

I'm having an issue with Brocade 300's and Dell FX 2010s modules.

 

I do not see all the WWNs on the brocade port, and I wanted to check if NPIV is supported on Brocade 300, if any config is requred, or if a certain firmware version is needed?

 

 

External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 300 and NPIV

@314g

 

yes, NPIV is supported.

 

--->>>I do not see all the WWNs on the brocade port,...

 

How is connected the Dell to Brocade ? and why NPIV ?

 

Is the switch set in native or AG Mode ?

 

 

 

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-25-2017

Re: Brocade 300 and NPIV

Thanks for the update.

 

The spec of the Dell FN2210S switch module is as follows:

 

FCoE -Supported
FCoE Initialization Protocol (FIP) v1
FCoE Transit (FIP Snooping Bridge) supported with FN410S, FN410T
Native FCoE forwarding
NPIV Proxy Gateway (NPG) supported with FN2210S
FCoE-FC forwarding / FPORT – Supported only with FN2210S
Dynamic FCoE to FC Load balancing 

http://www.dell.com/en-us/work/shop/povw/fn-io-aggregator

 

The Dell switch manual suggests that NPIV is required because behind the Dell FS2210S switch there are multiple blades so it made sense that NPIV is requires to allow the Brocade switch to see all WWNs (But I only see one at present, I suspect this is the WWN of the Dell switch port and not the blades behind it)

http://en.community.dell.com/techcenter/networking/m/networking_files/20441858/download

 

The Dell switches are set in standalone mode.

The Brocades are in native mode

External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 300 and NPIV

@syng

 

I'm not familiarly with DELL Part and/or Model number, however accord the Deployment and Config Guide you need simple to follow the Step as descripted in Brocade 6510.

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 300 and NPIV

Syng,

 

I note in the Guide, the config/design is Based on 6510 however with FOS v8.1.0

 

Brocade 300 is supported only till 7.4.x  ( 7.4.2 is the latest Release )

 

I would suggest to ask Dell if the config is Supported with preview FOS Release as 8.1.x

 

 

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-25-2017

Re: Brocade 300 and NPIV

Yes, the guide uses a reference architecture based on FOS 8.1, I will contact Dell to confirm support for 7.4

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-25-2017

Re: Brocade 300 and NPIV

I'll check will Dell however, what I have an issue with right now is that I do not see the Dell WWNs on the Brocades, is this normal on the 300? The guide says to create aliases for each WWN as below, but I dont see them logged in so I think there is an issue there.

 

Create aliases for the eight FC630 server FCoE ports. This information is from Table 2 in Section 4.3.

alicreate "FC630_1_A1", "20:01:D0:43:1E:AC:8C:B7"

alicreate "FC630_1_A2", "20:01:D0:43:1E:AC:8C:BA"

alicreate "FC630_2_A1", "20:01:D0:43:1E:AC:8D:6E"

alicreate "FC630_2_A2", "20:01:D0:43:1E:AC:8D:71"

alicreate "FC630_3_A1", "20:01:D0:43:1E:AC:8E:25"

...

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook