Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2013

Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

Hi ,

my first post in this forum , good occasion to say hello to the Brocade community .

I'm very new to Brocade products , therefore I would like an hint from more expert peoples .

I have a brand new Brocade 300 which I would like to connect to a brand new HP Lefthand P4300.

B300 has 8 port licensed (and open I presume by default) , I was not expecting things out of the box like a standard switch, however  seems that there isn't any connectivity between the 10G Fibre Card hp BQ891A ( Transceivers J9150A - J4858C   ) and the 300 , just orange light blinking, ping test from the lefthand are unsuccessfully .

I run the B300 set up wizard , I can operate within my network with it , I haven't create any alias or san zone yet , was just an unboxing test , but I presume that there is a transerceiver compatibility .

I was about to take out a Brocade transreceiver and plug it onto the HP HBA and check .

Any advice ? Lefthand has last OS update , B300 switch has a firmware from 2011 (If I'm correct 6.7 but can't bee 100 % sure right now )

Thanks in advance .

Antonio

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

Hello,

Brocade 300 is a Fibre Channel Switch can operate only with FC HBA or FC Storage at 8/4/2 Gb with SFP+, and 4/2/1 with Standard SFP.

Brocade 300 is not Ethernet capable and cannot be interconnected with Native Ethernet HBA and cannot operate at 1Gb or 10Gb.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2013

Re: Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

Hi ,

thanks for the reply .

Indeed connectivity is just between HP Fiber card HBA BQ891A model,  with Transreceiver HP J9150A inserted in the HBA Card (http://h30094.www3.hp.com/product/sku/3976334)  . Ethernet is not at all in the picture . B300 is just connected in my test LAN for configuration via Ethernet cable  .

I was just wondering if the issue might be in the HP transreceiver in the HBA card , therefore just eventually purchase the equivalent transreceiver Brocade model for the HP HBA BQ891A . Hopefully this clarify a bit more .

Thanks in advance .

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2013

Re: Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

...got your point .

Thanks .

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

Antonio

AFAIK,

HP Fiber card HBA BQ891A model is Re branded ( native Emulex ) Ethernet NIC and cannot handle Fibre Channel.

with other word, you have Ethernet NIC card, and not FC HBA.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2013

Re: Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

Indeed .

Plan has changed when equipment was purchased , the lefthand was not meant to be connected to the 300 but on a standard switch 1GB with 10GB SFP+  . Brocade came after due to the switch assigned to the storage was used for another switch failure  .

Since I have to deal with what I have in house , I had to give it a try , but now picture is clear to me concerning the connectivity failure .

Do you advice a suitable card for an HP Lefthand p4300 with transreceiver to be connected to the Brocade 300 ?

Single 8GB port , storage will not hold any business critical data and no replication or any secondary data center connectivity or any redundancy is planned at this stage .

Again thanks for the help .

Ciao

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

Antonio,

--->>>Do you advice a suitable card for an HP Lefthand p4300 with transreceiver to be connected to the Brocade 300 ?

I'm more familiarly with Oracle / SUN Microsystems, IBM and Unisys Server technology, unfortunately not with HP or some other Vendors.

You should refer Lethand Specification Sheet for Add-On component, otherwise, share here the URL I'll check for you.

However I think Standard HP HBA should be work.

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

according the Specs in this URL

http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/us/en/en/WF06b/12169-304616-3930449-3930449-3930449-3936136-3936173-3936175.html?dnr=1

there are no Options for FC HBA available.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-19-2013

Re: Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

Hi ,

I found this option : http://www8.hp.com/us/en/products/adapters/product-detail.html?oid=5294047

and: http://h30094.www3.hp.com/product/sku/10443553/mfg_partno/AP769B

HP Reference site about HBA's :Fibre Channel Host Bus Adapters | HP Storage SAN Infrastructure

this is exactly the model I got : http://www.glcomp.com/products/storage/disk-storage/hp-lefthand/p4300-g2

Even if the lefthand is a starter SAN, should give fiber connection option . Weird if it doesn't

Appreciate your help , thanks . Would be a shame can't make the B300 unusable .

External Moderator
Posts: 4,973
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Brocade 300 and HP Lefthand P4300 connectivity

URL you post, show diverse FC HBA, but the main problem from my point of view is, Lefthand Systems are not capable to Support Fiber Channel HBA.

Again, as mentioned in preview post I'm not HP Expert, maybe is another user here in the Community can confirm if this is supported or not.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.