Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor

Brocade 200E Configuration Design Questions

Hi,

I'm new to the brocade products, and seem to be struggling to find the information I need. And i am a newbie to SAN/Storage.

I have 2 Brocade 200e switches with 8 port activated with zoning license.

Attached is my current Design.

I want to configure it in a way that if one switch goes down, other will serve all the traffic, Failover senario. If one HBA goes down there is no connectivity issues.

I don't have switch fabric configured (Not sure if it requires licenses) or am not sure if it is required for my configuration.

Thanks in advance for any help advice, Any suggestions are really appriciated as i want to get this configured before we start using.

Can anyone recommend books for storage/san switch(brocade)

Nick 

Frequent Contributor

Re: Brocade 200E Configuration Design Questions

hi mgandhi

>I want to configure it in a way that if one switch goes down, other will serve all the traffic, Failover senario. If one HBA goes down there is no connectivity issues.

Your visio diagram looks good you have split your hba's across the two switches and also your storage controllers. By doing this you will be able to achieve

a failure in one fabric and I/O will still pass through the other switch.

In regards to your questions about good books give this one a try it helped me out alot when I started out with storage , and is worth a purchase

http://www.amazon.com/Designing-Storage-Area-Networks-Implementing/dp/0321136500/ref=sr_1_15?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1239845348&sr=8-15

Good luck

David

Frequent Contributor

Sorry my mistake you haven't split your storage array across your switches correctly

Your controllers should be place in this order

Controller A Port 0 to Switch 1 port x

Controller A Port 1 to Switch 2 port x

Controller B Port 0 to Switch 1 port x

Controller B Port 1 to Switch 2 port x

This is the correct config for your storage array controllers.

David