Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-19-2008

Blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

I am kinda in the dark here, hope this is correct forum for feedback.

We have QLogic QMC2462S HBA's connected to Brocade 4020 (IBM BLADE) connected to Brocade 200E Switch and then connected to our SAN controller (IBM).

We have 14 blade servers with same HW config running Linux.

Problem is error messages like this (from kern.log):

rport-2:0-38: blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

rport-2:0-37: blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

rport-2:0-3: blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

rport-1:0-2: blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

All 14 blades report the same at identical timestamp. It can be like 5 to 10 error messages like theese pr. day.

What does this actually mean, and what can be causing this?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 931
Registered: ‎12-30-2009

Re: Blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

Will googling for "blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport"

it seems you'r not the only one.

According to a similar message from VMWare it could be caused by connectivity issues with regard to the HBA or remote port.

I also found this mailthread (2005) from kernel.org with a patch attached to it. The message is identical to yours.

Fedora has a bug report (2009) against this message.

As all your blades report this at the sametime it, more or less, rules out the HBA. That leaves you with the storageport and the switchports in between or perhaps an outdated driver.

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-01-2012

Re: Blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

Was there a solution to this?  I'm getting exaclty the same problem, with the same set-up (but with a HP SAN) and it seems to occur when one of the attached blades is restarted. I'm proper pulling hair.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-19-2008

Re: Blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

We have been told by a Citrix Technician that theese messages was normal(?),

(We are running Xenserver).

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-01-2012

Re: Blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

Dang, our access to the unit from the affected machines drops/times out.  Will have to keep looking, thanks for letting us know.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Download FREE NVMe eBook