Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

7840 Bandwidth Configuration

Is there anyone that can provide insight into the configuration of the tunnel/circuit on a 7840?

 

I have 2 units deployed on a private 10G wavelength circuit.

 

The units are up and running, with 1 / 2G (min / max) bandwidth configured. When I attempt to increase the min / max the tunnel shutsdown and the curciut wont ever leave 'In Prog' as its state.

 

Any help appreciated.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

Hi agehring,

 

you question is not clear in details, can you please post he config ?

 

FYI, if i remember correct, a tunnel with more at 1Gbs is supported only in a Multi-Gigabit Circuit, additional a 10Gig License must be present.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

[ Edited ]

  

I have two 7840s, that are connected and running a current tunnel, e.g.;

 

Circuit 24.0 (DP0)

====================================================

  Admin/Oper State     : Enabled / Online

  Flags                : 0x00000000

  IP Addr (L/R)        : 192.168.254.2 ge2 <-> 192.168.254.3

  HA IP Addr (L/R)     : 0.0.0.0  <-> 0.0.0.0

  Configured Comm Rates: 1000000 / 2000000 kbps

  Peer Comm Rates      : 1000000 / 2000000 kbps

  Actual Comm Rates    : 1000000 / 2000000 kbps

  Keepalive Timeout    : 6000 ms

  Metric               : 0

  Connection Type      : Default

  ARL-Type             : Auto

  PMTU                 : Disabled

  Failover Group       : 0

  VLAN-ID              : NONE

  L2Cos (FC:h/m/l)     : 0 / 0 / 0 (Ctrl:0)

  L2Cos (IP:h/m/l)     : 0 / 0 / 0

  DSCP (FC:h/m/l)      : 0 / 0 / 0 (Ctrl:0)

  DSCP (IP:h/m/l)      : 0 / 0 / 0

  cfgmask              : 0x00000c2f 0x40000000

  Flow Status          : 0

  ConCount/Duration    : 2 / 20h49m

  Uptime               : 17h44m

  Stats Duration       : 17h43m

  Receiver Stats       : 4246307600 bytes / 31225815 pkts /   78.35 KBps Avg

  Sender Stats         : 1653273012844 bytes / 122653016 pkts /    6.41 MBps Avg

  TCP Bytes In/Out     : 7772998108 / 1964982307536

  ReTx/OOO/SloSt/DupAck: 193 / 0 / 16 / 0

  RTT (min/avg/max)    : 1 / 24 / 24 ms

 

They are connected to 10G interfaces on my network switches and show running at 10G, e.g.;

 

     ge2           id    10G     Online      FCIP

 

I have the WAN Rate Upgrade 1 license, installed 

 

admin> licenseshow

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:

    Advanced Extension license

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:

    Extended Fabric license

    Trunking license

    Fabric Vision license

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX:

    WAN Rate Upgrade 1 license

 

when I attempt to increase the min/max bandwidht beyond the current 1000000 / 2000000 kbps, the tunnel drops, and the circuit goes into 'In Prog" status.

 

I'm trying to get the min / max to 5000000 / 9500000 kbps

External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

How many Tunnel have you configured ?

 

from Relase Notes:

 

> WAN license provide for a troughput up to 5 Gbps

> The total bandwidth aggregated for all tunnels should not exceed the limits established by the licenses.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

[ Edited ]

> WAN license provide for a troughput up to 5 Gbps

> The total bandwidth aggregated for all tunnels should not exceed the limits established by the licenses.

 

As noted, the WAN Rate Upgrade 1 license is installed:

 

WAN Rate Upgrade 1

Increases bandwidth available to all extension tunnels configured on the switch from 5 Gbps for the base hardware to 10 Gbps.

 

I'll also note that a change to the current bandwidth, meaning above the current setting of 2G (max), fails - so even a change to 5G doesn't work.

 

Only the one tunnel/circuit

External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

I think - but I'm not sure - the restrictions Note refer both WAN 1 and 2 License.

but when you say, you only this one tunnel/circuit configured, you should have enough throughput so any License problem can be excluded.

 

have you review FOS Release Notes if any such impact is caused due a Defective ?

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

[ Edited ]

Running 7.4.1b.

 

There was nothing in the release notes that appeared relevant to my environment...

 

I would hope that there isn't a 'defect' that a swich designed to transfer FC traffic @ 40G, can't be configured to operate above 2G.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

Is anyone familiar with what the difference is between:

 

portcfgge --set -wan

 

portcfgge --set -lan

 

???

External Moderator
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

[ Edited ]

gehring,

 

just to understand, is this a FCIP Circuit ?

 

I found a note, but is not specified if this restriction is only on 7800 or 7840

 

>A single FCIP circuit cannot exceed 1 Gbps capacity

 

if this is applicable to 7840, that would answer the question.

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: 7840 Bandwidth Configuration

Yes, this is a FCIP circuit.

 

>A single FCIP circuit cannot exceed 1 Gbps capacity

 

Considering that it's currently running a 2G, I'm guessing this doesn't apply to the 7840...

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook