Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-14-2008

3250 firmware problems

I have a 3250 that Is currently in a bit of a loop and im not sure how to get it out of it. I just acquired the switch used and so I have no prior history of it. It seems like the secondary partition might be corrupt or something but for whatever reason it is just in this endless loop trying to download new firmware but failing miserably. I have tried to manually initiate the firmware download but it fails the sanity check (im about ready to fail the sanity check myself!)

SanSW3:admin> firmwareshow

Primary version: v5.1.1

Secondary version: Unknown

SanSW3:admin> version

Kernel: 2.4.19

Fabric OS: v5.1.1

Made on: Thu Sep 28 00:22:26 2006

Flash: Tue Oct 10 00:02:32 2006

BootProm: 4.5.3

SanSW3:admin> firmwarecommit

Validating primary partition...

Repairing the secondary partition now.

Please wait ...

rsync: error writing 15947 unbuffered bytes - exiting: Broken pipe

rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(465)

rsync: error writing 69 unbuffered bytes - exiting: Broken pipe

rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(465)

rsync: error writing 15947 unbuffered bytes - exiting: Broken pipe

rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(465)

rsync: error writing 69 unbuffered bytes - exiting: Broken pipe

rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(465)

rsync: error writing 15947 unbuffered bytes - exiting: Broken pipe

rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(465)

rsync: error writing 69 unbuffered bytes - exiting: Broken pipe

rsync error: error in rsync protocol data stream (code 12) at io.c(465)

Failed to sync partitions (0xc00).

Please retry firmwarecommit.

SanSW3:admin> firmwaredownloadstatus

: Tue Oct 10 00:00:33 2006

Firmware is being downloaded to the switch. This step may take up to 30 minutes.

: Tue Oct 10 00:05:59 2006

Firmware has been downloaded to the secondary partition of the switch.

: Tue Oct 10 00:08:38 2006

The firmware commit operation has started. This may take up to 10 minutes.

: Tue Oct 10 00:11:16 2006

Firmware commit failed - Firmwarecommit failed. (0x1a)

: Tue Oct 10 00:18:15 2006

The firmware commit operation has started. This may take up to 10 minutes.

: Tue Oct 10 00:19:12 2006

Firmware commit failed - Firmwarecommit failed. (0x1a)

: Tue Oct 10 00:19:28 2006

The firmware commit operation has started. This may take up to 10 minutes.

: Tue Oct 10 00:20:30 2006

Firmware commit failed - Firmwarecommit failed. (0x1a)

: Tue Oct 10 00:24:42 2006

Firmware commit operation has started to restore the secondary partition.

: Tue Oct 10 00:24:43 2006

The firmware commit operation has started. This may take up to 10 minutes.

: Tue Oct 10 00:25:58 2006

Firmware commit failed - Firmwarecommit failed. (0x1a)

: Tue Oct 10 00:27:12 2006

Firmwarerestore is entered. System will reboot and a firmware commit operation .

: Tue Oct 10 00:27:12 2006

Unable to restore the secondary partition. Please use firmwaredownloadstatus an)

And thats the endless loop the switch is in. I am unable to access any of the administrative functions of the GUI while this is happening so im unable to configure the switch. However it appears that everything is functional.

Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks!

External Moderator
Posts: 4,974
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 3250 firmware problems

suparuki,

i note your have start a Firmware Download.

what kind of release was loaded before you Upograde to v5.1.1 ?

TechHelp24

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-14-2008

Re: 3250 firmware problems

Thats the thing I have not upgraded this to 5.1.1 This is how I received it. I cant seem to stop it trying to download new firmware but I cant intervene and tell it where new firmware actually is. Its like it keeps trying to commit the 5.1.1 ver to the secondary partition and for whatever reason it cant. SO it tries to bring down a new ver but I have no clue where it thinks its trying to get it from.

Thank you for replying im desperate and really need help on this.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.