Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-16-2006

2800 to 4100 Upgrade

Anyone know if this tool can be used to aid in the upgrade/replacement of two 2800 switches to two 4100 switches?

External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 2800 to 4100 Upgrade

no tool are available, but a good way is the Fabric Manager 5.x, you can Download this 60 Day Eval Version, and Migrate you 2800 SAN to the NEW 4100. That is the best tool's

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-16-2006

Re: 2800 to 4100 Upgrade

Thanks. I have dloaded the 60 day eval - and am perusing the docs and screens - trying to find that migrate capability. I mainly want to save my aliases and zones. Would like to be able to get from my prod 2800, and in lab - move onto the new 4100 in prep for the swap. Is that possible?

External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 2800 to 4100 Upgrade

jhevener,-&gt;&gt;&gt; I mainly want to save my aliases and zones. Would like to be able to get from my prod 2800, and in lab - move onto the new 4100 in prep for the swap. <BR>-&gt;&gt;&gt; Is that possible?this procedure must work.

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 2800 to 4100 Upgrade

jhevener,Must Test.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-16-2006

Re: 2800 to 4100 Upgrade

Our 2800's are at 2.6.1a. I guess that means we are out of luck?-&gt;&gt;&gt; I mainly want to save my aliases and zones. Would like to be able to get from my prod 2800, and in lab - move onto the new 4100 in prep for the swap. <BR>-&gt;&gt;&gt; Is that possible?

External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 2800 to 4100 Upgrade

Between 2.6.1a and 2.6.2d are 10 Release developed.

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-16-2006

Re: 2800 to 4100 Upgrade

jhevener@outgun.com-&gt;&gt;&gt; I mainly want to save my aliases and zones. Would like to be able to get from my prod 2800, and in lab - move onto the new 4100 in prep for the swap. <BR>-&gt;&gt;&gt; Is that possible?

External Moderator
Posts: 5,033
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 2800 to 4100 Upgrade

I'll need instructions as well. I hesitate to do a fw update, but it would be nice to have in case I change my mind. Thanks much.FW Download is very simple, but if you have difficult to update ask before, i will help.

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook