Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-27-2011

200E Switch not booting

I am trying to get a Brocade 200E (branded as HP Storageworks 4/16) switch added to a fabric of 4900 series switches, i connected via console cable to the switch, and it seems to be just cycling around with the following message on the console, anyone got an idea of how i can get the switching working?  I have no idea what version of FOS it was running:

The system is coming up, please wait...

Read board ID of 0x80 from addr 0x23

Read extended model ID of 0x19 from addr 0x22 Matched board/model ID to platform index 6

Read board ID of 0x80 from addr 0x23

Read extended model ID of 0x19 from addr 0x22 Matched board/model ID to platform index 6 Checking system RAM - press any key to stop test

Checking memory address: 00100000

System RAM test using Default POST RAM Test succeeded.

Press escape within 4 seconds to enter boot interface.

Booting "Fabric Operating System" image.

Blk map has an invalid version 0

Blk map has an invalid version 0

ThisOSLoader has an invalid magic number (0x33C08ED0) ThisOSLoader has an invalid magic number (0x33C08ED0)

Exception raised!

Vector   SRR0     SRR1 CSRR0    CSRR1    DEAR ESR      MSR

FFC41100 FFC83D98 00029000 00000000 00000000 BC007CFB 00800000 00021000ÿ

The system is coming up, please wait...

Read board ID of 0x80 from addr 0x23

Read extended model ID of 0x19 from addr 0x22 Matched board/model ID to platform index 6

Read board ID of 0x80 from addr 0x23

Read extended model ID of 0x19 from addr 0x22 Matched board/model ID to platform index 6

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: 200E Switch not booting

Hi,

Enter into the boot interface

Checking memory address: 00100000

System RAM test using Default POST RAM Test succeeded.

Press escape within 4 seconds to enter boot interface.

and in it, you'll see something similar to this:

1) Start system.

2) Recover password.

3) Enter command shell. <-- select '3'

then execute 'printenv' to show the current boot parameters

≻printenv

AutoLoad=yes

BadRootDev=hda1;hda2

ENET_MAC=00051E022E04

InitTest=MEM()

LoadIdentifiers=Fabric Operating System;Fabric Operating System

OSLoader=ATA()0x12360;ATA()0x519a4

OSRootPartition=hda1;hda2

SkipWatchdog=yes

and you can try to boot from the two partitions by executing

>boot ATA()0x12360

or

>boot ATA()0x519a4

You can also search in the communities since there are some similar posts that may be useful for you.

good luck

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-27-2011

Re: 200E Switch not booting

Many Thanks for that.

Here is the output from printenv:

> printenv

AutoLoad=yes

ENET_MAC=00012345ABCD

InitTest=MEM()

LoadIdentifiers=Fabric Operating System;Fabric Operating System

OSBooted=MEM()0xF0000000

OSLoadOptions=quiet;quiet

OSLoader=MEM()0xF0000000;MEM()0xF0800000

OSRootPartition=hda1;hda2

SkipWatchdog=yes

I don't see any ATA listing, i did try just booting:
boot ATA()0x12360

or

boot ATA()0x519a4

but get the following message:

> boot ATA()0x12360

Booting "Manually selected OS" image.

Blk map has an invalid version 337677849 Blk map has an invalid version 337677849 Retry reading the first kernel image Resetting ATA controller.

Retry reading the first kernel image

ATA()0x12360's entry point is too small (0x00003DB8 < 0x00100000) OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

How can i find the correct values for the ATA?

> hinv

Boot PROM: Version 4.6.6, Checksum: 321fa9a8, Fri Sep 17 23:13:57 2010

Platform: SWBD34, Revision 1

Processor: CPU: 333 MHz PowerPC

Main memory: 128 MB (ECC) @ 0x00000000

Primary data cache: 32 KB, 32 B lines

Primary instruction cache: 32 KB, 32 B lines PCI device: Bus 0, Slot 2, Function 0, Vendor 0x1657, Device 0x000b

        Processor Local Bus: 133 MHz

     On-chip Peripheral Bus: 66 MHz

    External Peripheral Bus: 33 MHz

    PCI Bus: 33 MHz (internal arbiter)

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: 200E Switch not booting

Hi,

In your case, you'll have to try with:

OSLoader=MEM()0xF0000000;MEM()0xF0800000


>boot MEM()0xF0000000

or

>boot MEM()0xF0800000

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-27-2011

Re: 200E Switch not booting

Thought you would say that here is the output:

> boot MEM()0xF0000000

Booting "Manually selected OS" image.

MEM()0xF0000000 has an invalid magic number (0xECECECEC) OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

> boot MEM()0xF0800000

Booting "Manually selected OS" image.

MEM()0xF0800000 has an invalid magic number (0xECECECEC) OSLoader contains no bootable devices.

Does this mean i have no FOS on the switch (or no working one at least)? if so is there a way to upload one?

Valued Contributor
Posts: 761
Registered: ‎06-11-2010

Re: 200E Switch not booting

Hi,

That is bad news... there is no FOS image, or maybe the image is corrupt. There is a way to perform a reimage of the code but i do not have either the procedure or the code to do it, It is Brocade the one that has it, and you need to open a case with them (or the OEM vendor) to get it (although usually it's faster to replace the whole switch...).

I know that sometimes it is not possible to open a case with the switch vendor, in that case the only option I see is to search in the community (and google as second best option) because there are some issues similar to this one reported, with possible workarounds to make the switch boot up.

Rgds

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook