Fibre Channel (SAN)

Contributor

200-16E

Hi

I'm new to the brocade products, and seem to be struggling to find the information I need.

I have 4 200E at V6.1.0c switches and would like to do the following.

Connect 2 switches together to create 1 fabric and then the same with the other 2 switches, so in total I would have 4 switches but 2 fabrics. Then connect the two fabrics together.

Then I want to create 2 zones on each Fabric 1) SQL 2) Virtual Servers ports evenly split. then from the DS3400 which has 2 controllers in ( 4 Fibre connections in total ) split them into the correct zones across all 4 switches ( 2 Fabrics ) then from the 2 servers again with one controller in each ( 2 fibre Ports on each) split these across the 2 fabrics.

The result I would like to end up with is: If one complete fabric (2 switches) was lost there would be no loss of service, If one switch was lost no loss of service.

So it would have switch redundancy and fabric redundancy

Thanks in advance for any help advice

Phil:)

External Moderator

Re: 200-16E

Phil,

in short form, you will Build a Dul Fabric with Redundant Switches.

What is here you Question ?

Have all Switch a Fabric License ?

TechHelp24

TechHelp24
Super Contributor

You need some training Phil. I too had similiar confusions when I was new to SAN. I'm just making an attempt here to demystify this.

• Each Storage controller has 2 ports

Slot-A1 and Slot-A2

Slot-B1 and Slot-B2

• Fabric A

Switch-A1

Switch-A2

• Fabric B

Switch-B1

Switch-B2

I would suggest the following architecture

Slot-A1 <- Switch-A1 <- ISL -> Switch-A2 ->Slot-B1

Slot-B2 <- Switch-B1 <- ISL -> Switch-B2 -> Slot-A2

Now if you connect a host with 2 HBA's, connect it to either switches Switch-A1-B1 OR Switch-A2-B2, an example of zoning is as follows

In Fabric A = { HBA-1 <-> Slot-A1} {HBA-1 <-> Slot-B1 }

In Fabric B = { HBA-2 <-> Slot-B2} {HBA-2 <-> Slot-A2 }