Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-19-2018
Accepted Solution

failed to access release.plist

I am trying to upgrade DCX 8510-8 from v8.1.1 to 8.1.1a and I get the following error.

 

mybrocade:FID20:root> firmwaredownload
Server Name or IP Address: xx.xx.xx.xx
User Name: ftp
File Name: v8.1.1a
Network Protocol(1-SCP, 2-SFTP) [1]: 2
Do you want to input SFTP options (Y/N) [N]:
Verifying if the public key authentication is available.Please wait ...Success.

Server IP: xx.xx.xx.xx, Protocol IPv4
Checking system settings for firmwaredownload...
Failed to access sftp://ftp:@xx.xx.xx.xx/v8.1.1a/release.plist
The server is inaccessible or firmware path is invalid. Please make sure the server name/IP address and the firmware path are valid, the protocol and authentication are supported. It is also possible that the RSA host key could have been changed and please contact the System Administrator for adding the correct host key.

 

I have another switch on the same subnet doesn't show same symptoms. Only difference between these two switches is the following.

 

Failing Switch:

Verifying if the public key authentication is available.Please wait ...Success.

 

Successful switch:

Verifying if the public key authentication is available.Please wait ...
The public key authentication is not available.

 

On the successful switch, public key authentication fails and prompts for the ftp passwd. Where as on the failed switch, public key authentication is successful and obviously fails to access the files. I was wondering on how to disable the public key authentication. Any one seen this issue and a fix for it ?

 

v8.1.1a  directory doesn't have a release.plist file, but there are sub folders with release.plist files. Not sure which one is the correct folder to specify to firmwaredownload.

 

Appreciated

 

Shynee

Contributor
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎05-12-2013

Re: failed to access release.plist

Try doing th4 firmware upgrade using the switch admin account instead of root.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Re: failed to access release.plist

admin account is disabled. Try to enable gives me the following error

 

mybrocade:FID20:root> userconfig --change admin -e yes
Cannot manage the target account due to conflicting LF permissions

 

mybrocade:FID20:root> userconfig --show admin

Account name: admin
Description: Administrator
Enabled: No
Password Last Change Date: Fri Oct 27 2017 (UTC)
Password Expiration Date: Not Applicable (UTC)
Locked: No
Home LF Role: admin
Role-LF List: admin: 1-128
Chassis Role: admin
Home LF: 20
Day Time Access: N/A

 

But my other switch where the admin account is disabled works fine.

 

Thanks

 

Shynee

Contributor
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎05-12-2013

Re: failed to access release.plist

Did you ever resolve this?
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Re: failed to access release.plist

No, I have not.  WHat is weird is, the A side switches work fine, but the B side all fail. Whenever the public key is successful and it fails.

 

"Verifying if the public key authentication is available.Please wait ...Success"

 

Now I am trying to upgrade locally using a USB drive.

 

Thanks

Regular Contributor
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: failed to access release.plist

There are a few steps to resolve this:

 

1.STOP USING ROOT!!!!

2.See 1

3.See 2

 

No kidding. The switch in back-ground is simply using ftp over ssh and if you're using the root account it will simply try to use public-key authentication. If it determines that the sftp server allows this it will simply send it's root public key to the sftp server which will obviously fail. It depends on the ssh server how thisis set up.

 

You can also try and force to use ftp with the "-p" parameter.

 

Your problem with the admin account is weird as FOS would normally not allow you to change any of the default accounts but should've never had to resort to using the root account. Thing can go SEVERELY wrong.

 

Check the permissions for the admin account. "userconfig --show -r admin". The  admin account should have LF permissions in FIDs 1-128 and also include the chassis-rolead admin.

 

 

Kind regards,
Erwin van Londen
Brocade Distinguished Architect
http://www.erwinvanlonden.net The Fibre Channel blog



Q&A -> https://hackhands.com/elo/


-------
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-28-2018

Re: failed to access release.plist

Hi,

 

had the same issue, and the way I was able to upgrade the FOS was using INA. I'm not sure if you've the possibility, but that's the simplest way.

 

Regards, Tamas

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Re: failed to access release.plist

 

I used different ID's, apart from root, it failes with the same error. Finally resolved my issues using the following steps

 

1) Configured a new ftp server on a unix machine (vsftp). Probably not a necessary step, but wanted to start from scratch and rule out any issues with the existing ftp server.

 

2) Changed the "Enforce secure config Upload/Download" to "no" on the switch

 

3) Instead of using sftp/scp, switched to a regular ftp

 

4) specified release.plist file with firmwaredownload command

 

5) Here is the syntax which worked.

 

firmwaredownload -p ftp <ftp server>,ftp,v8.2.0a/release.plist,<passwd>

 

Thanks for your valuable inputs. Appreciated.

 

Shynee

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-19-2018

Re: failed to access release.plist

Tamas,

 

What is INA ?

 

Thanks

 

Shynee

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎03-20-2018

Re: failed to access release.plist

IBMs Network Advisor, if I'm not mistaken.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.