Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2017

Why portcfgshow doesn't show me the Fill Word setting?

I have the strange situation that portcfgshow command doesn't show the Fill Word setting for some of the switches I have in the same fabirc:
HI74148_bay3:admin> portcfgshow

Ports of Slot 0         0   1   2   3     4   5   6   7     8   9  10  11    12  13  14  15
----------------------+---+---+---+---+-----+---+---+---+-----+---+---+---+-----+---+---+---
Speed                  AN  8G  8G  AN    AN  AN  AN  8G    AN  8G  8G  8G    AN  AN  AN  AN
Trunk Port             ON  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Locked N_Port          ON  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Persistent Disable     ..  ..  ..  ON    ON  ON  ON  ..    ON  ..  ON  ON    ..  ..  ..  ON
LOS TOV mode            -   -   -   -     -   -   -   -     -   -   -   -     -   -   -   -
NPIV capability        ON  ON  ON  ON    ON  ON  ON  ON    ON  ON  ON  ON    ON  ON  ON  ON
NPIV PP Limit          255 255 255 255   255 255 255 126   255 255 255 255   255 255 255 126
NPIV FLOGI Logout      ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
QOS Port               AE  AE  AE  AE    AE  AE  AE  ..    AE  AE  AE  AE    AE  AE  AE  AE
Rate Limit             ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Credit Recovery        ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Fport Buffers          ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Eport Credits          ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Port Auto Disable      ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
D-Port mode            ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
D-Port over DWDM       ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
FEC                    ON  ON  ON  ON    ON  ON  ON  ON    ON  ON  ON  ON    ON  ON  ON  ON
FEC via TTS            ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Fault Delay             0   0   0   0     0   0   0   0     0   0   0   0     0   0   0   0
SIM Port               ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
8G Non-DFE             ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
TDZ mode               ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
HI74148_bay3:admin>

HI74148_bay3:admin> version
Kernel:     2.6.14.2
Fabric OS:  v7.4.1e
Made on:    Tue Oct 18 20:52:29 2016
Flash:      Thu Nov 16 21:50:41 2017
BootProm:   1.0.11
HI74148_bay3:admin>

The same command on another similar switch shows the Fill Word setting:
HI13691_bay3:admin> portcfgshow

Ports of Slot 0         0   1   2   3     4   5   6   7     8   9  10  11    12  13  14  15
----------------------+---+---+---+---+-----+---+---+---+-----+---+---+---+-----+---+---+---
Speed                  AN  AN  8G  8G    8G  8G  8G  8G    8G  8G  8G  8G    8G  AN  AN  AN
Fill Word(On Active)    0   0   3   3     3   3   3   3     3   3   3   3     3   0   0   0
Fill Word(Current)      0   0   3   3     3   3   3   3     3   3   3   3     3   0   0   0
Trunk Port             ON  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Locked N_Port          ON  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Persistent Disable     ..  ON  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ON  ..  ON
LOS TOV mode            -   -   -   -     -   -   -   -     -   -   -   -     -   -   -   -
NPIV capability        ON  ON  ON  ON    ON  ON  ON  ON    ON  ON  ON  ON    ON  ON  ON  ON
NPIV PP Limit          126 126 126 126   126 126 126 126   126 126 126 126   126 126 126 126
NPIV FLOGI Logout      ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
QOS Port               AE  AE  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  AE  AE  AE
Rate Limit             ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Credit Recovery        ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Fport Buffers          ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Eport Credits          ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Port Auto Disable      ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
Fault Delay             0   0   0   0     0   0   0   0     0   0   0   0     0   0   0   0
SIM Port               ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
TDZ mode               ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..    ..  ..  ..  ..
HI13691_bay3:admin>
HI13691_bay3:admin> version
Kernel:     2.6.14.2
Fabric OS:  v7.4.1e
Made on:    Tue Oct 18 22:52:25 2016
Flash:      Thu Nov 16 22:04:20 2017
BootProm:   1.0.11
HI13691_bay3:admin>

Can anybody tell me what could be the reason?

Thank you.

 

 

Broadcom Moderator
Posts: 415
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: Why portcfgshow doesn't show me the Fill Word setting?

Hello,

 

Please can you provide the swith model of both switches?

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-14-2017

Re: Why portcfgshow doesn't show me the Fill Word setting?

Hello,

 

switchName:     HI13691_bay3
switchType:     72.3
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Access Gateway Mode
switchWwn:      10:00:00:27:f8:2c:bc:e1
switchBeacon:   OFF

 

=================================


switchName:     HI74148_bay3
switchType:     129.1
switchState:    Online
switchMode:     Access Gateway Mode
switchWwn:      10:00:50:eb:1a:7c:84:3c
switchBeacon:   OFF
FC Router:      OFF
FC Router BB Fabric ID: 1
Address Mode:   0

=================================

 

I understand it's related to switchType. The newer type of switches doesn't need(even support) filword settings.

Can you please tell me which model is the lowest one where the FillWrod doesn't need to be configured?

 

Thank you

Broadcom Moderator
Posts: 415
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: Why portcfgshow doesn't show me the Fill Word setting?

Hello,

 

Yes right.

 

129.x is a 16G capable switch

72.x is a 8G capable switch (with fillword)

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-04-2013

Re: Why portcfgshow doesn't show me the Fill Word setting?

Hello

 

Switch type 72 (model 5480) is a 8gb switch , switch type 129 (model 6548) is a 16gb switch.

And thats the reason.

 

rgds

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.