For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-20-2018

Re: Firmware Update

So i would need to purchase two new fibre switches?  What is the available model now after the 300

Highlighted
External Moderator
Posts: 5,317
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Firmware Update

[ Edited ]

@baileyphil

 

correct, you need NEW Switches.

 

6505 is 16Gb but I would suggest to G610 is 32Gb Gen6 as latest available model and work fine with Powervault MD3800

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-20-2018

Re: Firmware Update

Antonio many thanks for your help and patience, it is very much appreciated, i will contact our supplier and get a G610 ordered for replacement.

External Moderator
Posts: 5,317
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Firmware Update

you are welcome.

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,317
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Firmware Update

@baileyphil

 

BTW, I forgot to mention check the Powervault MD3800 is ready for FC.

 

AFAIK, those Storage are available with several connectivity, FC, FCoE and iSCSI

 

TechHelp24
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎02-20-2018

Re: Firmware Update

This MD was previously connect via fibre before it was moved to the DR location, but ill keep that in mind many thanks

External Moderator
Posts: 5,317
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Firmware Update

well, don´t confused "fibre" as pysical cable and Fibre as Protocol = FC

 

if the Powervault MD3800 is a "i" Model then is ready for iSCSI, "f" Model is FC

TechHelp24

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.