For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-17-2018
Accepted Solution

DCX FC8-48 blade ports missing

I've a DCX (on FOS 7.0.0c) with a FC8-48 in slot 1, but for some weird reasons, certain ports are NOT showing up dispite me trying to clear all configurations, remove ADs, ensuring virtual fabric isn't configured etc.

 

As shown the switchshow below, slot 1 ports 0,1,2,3,4,9,11,12,17 are missing. Is there other settings that I should check? I repurposed this DCX so it should be as "clean" as it can be. I've already tried slotpoweroff and on, and even physically reseating the blade but the problem remains.

 

DCX_1:admin> switchshow | more
switchName: DCX_1
switchType: 62.3
switchState: Online
switchMode: Native
switchRole: Subordinate
switchDomain: 36
switchId: fffc24
switchWwn: 10:00:00:88:88:88:88:88
zoning: ON (DCX1_CFG)
switchBeacon: OFF
FC Router: OFF
FC Router BB Fabric ID: 1
Address Mode: 0

Index Slot Port Address Media Speed State Proto
=======================================================
5 1 5 240500 -- 4G No_Module FC
6 1 6 240600 -- 4G No_Module FC
7 1 7 240700 -- 4G No_Module FC
8 1 8 240800 -- 4G No_Module FC
10 1 10 240a00 -- 4G No_Module FC
13 1 13 240d00 -- 4G No_Module FC
14 1 14 240e00 -- 4G No_Module FC
15 1 15 240f00 -- 4G No_Module FC
128 1 16 248000 -- 4G No_Module FC
130 1 18 248200 id 4G No_Light FC
131 1 19 248300 id 4G No_Light FC
132 1 20 248400 id 4G No_Light FC
133 1 21 248500 id 4G No_Light FC
134 1 22 248600 id 4G No_Light FC
135 1 23 248700 id 4G Online FC E-Port 10:00:00:05:1e:02:84:34 "switch11" (upstream)
136 1 24 248800 id 4G No_Light FC
137 1 25 248900 -- 4G No_Module FC
138 1 26 248a00 -- 4G No_Module FC
139 1 27 248b00 -- 4G No_Module FC
140 1 28 248c00 -- 4G No_Module FC
141 1 29 248d00 -- 4G No_Module FC
142 1 30 248e00 -- 4G No_Module FC
143 1 31 248f00 -- 4G No_Module FC
256 1 32 248880 -- 4G No_Module FC
257 1 33 248980 -- 4G No_Module FC
258 1 34 248a80 -- 4G No_Module FC
259 1 35 248b80 -- 4G No_Module FC
260 1 36 248c80 -- 4G No_Module FC
261 1 37 248d80 -- 4G No_Module FC
262 1 38 248e80 -- 4G No_Module FC
263 1 39 248f80 -- 4G No_Module FC
264 1 40 248080 -- 4G No_Module FC
265 1 41 248180 id 4G No_Light FC
266 1 42 248280 id 4G No_Light FC
267 1 43 248380 id 4G No_Light FC
268 1 44 248480 id 4G No_Light FC
269 1 45 248580 id 4G No_Light FC
270 1 46 248680 id 4G No_Light FC
271 1 47 248780 id 4G Online FC E-Port 10:00:00:05:1e:02:84:34 "switch11"

 

DCX_1:admin> slotshow -m

Slot Blade Type ID Model Name Status
--------------------------------------------------
1 SW BLADE 51 FC8-48 ENABLED
2 UNKNOWN VACANT
3 UNKNOWN VACANT
4 UNKNOWN VACANT
5 CORE BLADE 52 CORE8 ENABLED
6 CP BLADE 50 CP8 ENABLED
7 CP BLADE 50 CP8 ENABLED
8 CORE BLADE 52 CORE8 ENABLED
9 SW BLADE 51 FC8-48 ENABLED
10 UNKNOWN VACANT
11 UNKNOWN VACANT
12 UNKNOWN VACANT

 

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎01-19-2018

Re: DCX FC8-48 blade ports missing

I think you need to try lscfg, maybe your "missing" ports are in another VF?
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 147
Registered: ‎04-04-2018

Re: DCX FC8-48 blade ports missing

Hello,

as Alexey said, try to use command

lscfg --show

There is possibility that Virtual Fabrics are enabled and you have another logical switch in you chassis.
Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.

Marian Bezeg
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-17-2018

Re: DCX FC8-48 blade ports missing

Hi Alexey, Marian,

 

You folks are right in that logical switches were created. Unfortunately Virtual Fabric was disabled so initially, running "lscfg --show" didn't turn up any logical switches.

 

It was only after I enabled VF by "fosconfig --enable vf" and rebooted the DCX and then "lscfg --show" revealed the previously configured logical switches.

 

I had since used "lscfg --configure 128 -slot 1 -port <missing_port_numbers>" to assign previously "missing" ports back to the default switch (FID 128) and deleted the logical switches configured. Everything is functioning as expected now.

 

Thanks for the advice :)

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎01-19-2018

Re: DCX FC8-48 blade ports missing

Wow, non-default logical switches exist, but VF feature is disabled! Never thought this would be possible! Looks like some room for improvement from Brocade :) Best regards!

Join the Broadcom Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.