For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.

Fibre Channel (SAN)

New Contributor
Accepted Solution

Create FC Fabric between 2 x 6510 over dark fibre

Sorry but I'm rather new to the world of Fabric Switches.

I was recently given the task to re-new our aging QLogic SANBox 5802 switches which are located in our 2 datacenters and connected by dark fibre. Within each datacenter we have 2 QL switches. Switch 1 in DC A is in a Fabric with Switch 1 in DC B, then Switch 2 in DC A in a Fabric with Switch 2 in DC B.

I've gone ahead and purchased 4 x HPE SN6000B which are re-badged Brocade 6510.

Do I need a license to create a Fabric between the two switches (x2) ?

Thanks in advance

Ian

External Moderator

Re: Create FC Fabric between 2 x 6510 over dark fibre

@icelias

starting with FOS 7.2 on Gen5 Platforms, Fabric License is native and no longer required.

TechHelp24
New Contributor

[ Edited ]

Hi TechHelp24,

Thanks for your prompt reply.

The switches are currently on 8.0.2c, so we should be okay.

The switches have no config at the moment (other than management IP) and I've given them a unique Domain ID.

Are you aware of any links/docs to help in creating the Fabric?

Many thanks

Ian

Regular Contributor

Hello,

do you know what is the distance between switches? If its more than 10km you need to have "Extended fabric license" on switches.

For switch configuration, there is admin guide for FOS 8.x.x

Admin guide FOS 8.0.1

If you woud like to create fabric streched between your DCs.

You need to have different domain IDs on all switches in one fabric.

One note from admin guide:

Do not use domain ID 0. Using this domain ID can cause the switch to reboot continuousl

Second thing you need to have physical connectivity between sites.

Then you have to configure E-Port from switch to DWDM as long distance port.

Based on distance:

Normal Mode (LO) — LO is the normal (default) mode for an E_Port. It configures the E_Port as a standard (not long-distance)