For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-02-2018

Config ISL on 2 SAN SWITCH.

[ Edited ]

Dear ALL!

 

I have 2 SAN SWITCH 2498-B24 (SANSW-01 and SANSW-02) which connect to each other via fiber and install extended fabric licenes aready. 

 

SAN STOREAGE V5000 01 connect to SANSW-01 and SAN STORAGE V5000 02 connecto SANSW-02. Please help me how to congfig ISL on 2 san switch that v5000 01 anf v5000 02 can communicate .

 

Thanks so much!

External Moderator
Posts: 5,510
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Config ISL on 2 SAN SWITCH.

@Nguyen Huy

 

have both switch Extended fabric License ?

is the distance less or longer than 10Km ?

what Type of SFP you use for those Port ?

are the Port Set as Long Distance ?

are both switches already configured, i.e. Unique Domain ID ?

 

 

 

 

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-02-2018

Re: Config ISL on 2 SAN SWITCH.

@Antonio Bongiorno TechHelp24

 

1.  both switch have installed Extended fabric License aready.

2. the distance less  than 10Km (6,5km)

3. Type of SFP you use for those Port: SFP Transceiver 8Gbps  10km LW

4. Port Set as Long Distance: L0

5. both switches already configured, i.e. Unique Domain ID

 

Some information about config:

 

SANSW-03:admin> islshow

  1:  0->  8 10:00:50:eb:1a:b1:3f:98   1 SANSW-01        sp:  8.000G bw:  8.000G                                                                                       

 

SANSW-03:admin> fabricshow

Switch ID   Worldwide Name          Enet IP Addr    FC IP Addr      Name

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

  1: fffc01 10:00:50:eb:1a:b1:3f:98 10.118.20.101   0.0.0.0        >"SANSW-01"

  2: fffc02 10:00:c4:f5:7c:d2:48:1c 10.118.20.120   0.0.0.0         "SANSW-03"

 

The Fabric has 2 switches

 

2 Storage V5000 (SAN01 and SAN03) connect to each san switch (SAN01 connect to SANSW-01 and SAN03 connect to SANSW-03)

I have aready created zone on SANSW01 ( members SAN01 and SAN03) and SANSW03 see that zone.

 

I'm sure alias of SAN01 and SAN03 are correct . But SAN01 didn't see any candidates when I add partner ship.

 

Please help me!

 

Thanks a lot!

External Moderator
Posts: 5,510
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Config ISL on 2 SAN SWITCH.

@Nguyen Huy

 

--->>>4. Port Set as Long Distance: L0

 

Port - on both side - must be set as LE

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-02-2018

Re: Config ISL on 2 SAN SWITCH.

@Antonio Bongiorno TechHelp24

 

Thanks for your support!

 

I changed to LE but unsuccessfull (Segmented VC Link init incompact)

 

Pls help me!

 

External Moderator
Posts: 5,510
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Config ISL on 2 SAN SWITCH.

@Nguyen Huy

 

please refer the Command

 

"portcfglongdistance"

 

in Command Reference Manuals for more details

 

vc_translation_link_init
Specifies the fill words used on long distance links. When set to 1, the link uses
ARB fill words (default). When set to 0, the link uses IDLE fill words. The IDLE fill
word option is not compatible with QoS configured links and Credit Recovery
enabled links. You must disable these features before configuring long distance
IDLE fill words.

 

make sure the port is correct set, "portcfgshow" command, give the output of port settings

 

try follow:

 

1) disconnet the ISL cable

2) disable the port's "portcfgpersistendisable" port_number

3) set all required parameters on both Port's Fabric_A and fabric_B

4) enable the port "portcfgpersistenenable"

5) plug the cable, ISL shloud turn online

 

 

 

 

 

TechHelp24
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-02-2018

Re: Config ISL on 2 SAN SWITCH.

@Antonio Bongiorno TechHelp24

 

Thanks for your support!

Storage on 2 sanswitch connect successfully.

 

 

Join the Broadcom Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.