For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-16-2018

Can we upgrade Brocade switches from 7.4.1d to 8.1.2a using Ansible Tower.

Can we upgrade Brocade switches from 7.4.1d to 8.1.2a using Ansible Tower.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: Can we upgrade Brocade switches from 7.4.1d to 8.1.2a using Ansible Tower.

Not yet unless you create playbooks that use ssh sessions to log into a switch and manually start the firmware upgrade process like that.

 

There is however light on the horizon as FOS 8.2 hasa new REST API (see here https://erwinvanlonden.net/2018/02/fos-8-2-0-the-first-broadcom-fos-release/) and new Brocade supported OpenSource initiaves will allow to hook into IaaS platforms like OpenStack etc. It will also allow exactly what you ask for.

 

So, as per Gladiator slogan: "Soon, but not yet..."

 

Regards

Erwin

Kind regards,
Erwin van Londen
Brocade Distinguished Architect
http://www.erwinvanlonden.net The Fibre Channel blog



Q&A -> https://hackhands.com/elo/


-------
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-16-2018

Re: Can we upgrade Brocade switches from 7.4.1d to 8.1.2a using Ansible Tower.

Do we have any other ways that we can automate the switch upgrades ?

As we have a lot number of switches (AG's) in our environment. If it getting hard to login to each switch and upgrade te FOS.

Broadcom Moderator
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎03-29-2010

Re: Can we upgrade Brocade switches from 7.4.1d to 8.1.2a using Ansible Tower.

The BNA(Brocade Network Advisor) has an automated FOS upgrade method. If you have BNA, search for 'automatic FOS upgrade. Suggest using 'sequential' method for upgrades, unless you have an extremely robust mgmt network, and very little TCP/IP overhead. 

doc

Any and all information provided by me is for entertainment value and should not be relied upon as a guaranteed solution or warranty of mechantability. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a concern about data loss, or network disconnection, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, Please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".

Regular Contributor
Posts: 166
Registered: ‎02-05-2014

Re: Can we upgrade Brocade switches from 7.4.1d to 8.1.2a using Ansible Tower.

As DOC mentioned BNA may be an option. I don'tknow how many switches you have but it can be failry easy done with a single CLI command line:

 

"firmwaredownload <ipaddress of ftpserver>,<ftp username>,</path/to/fos/>,<ftp password>"

 

Just Copy&Paste that into a CLI window from an ssh session and the process kicks off. It can indeed be timeconsuming if you constantly use the interactive menu so this handy shortcut savesa lot of time. If you have multiple FOS upgrade steps just change the </path/to/fos> option and you're steaming.

 

 

Kind regards,
Erwin van Londen
Brocade Distinguished Architect
http://www.erwinvanlonden.net The Fibre Channel blog



Q&A -> https://hackhands.com/elo/


-------

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.