For more details, please see ourCookie Policy.


Fibre Channel (SAN)

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Hi

 

I am implementing FCIP for my Hitachi Universal Replicator  with 4 box solution .  (2 7840 Boxes at each site) .    We are considering the solution at 7840   and Network level . These switches are connected to Cisco 5548  with Port channel configured. 

 

How can we achieve the HA with setup and whether Broacde 7840 supports Port channeling .  I have gone through some docuemnets  and found similar concept of Extensive Trunking.  There are docuements  avialable only for commands , not  much related to design 

 

 

 

 

Regular Contributor
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎05-11-2011

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Hi,

 

HA you will get with FCIP-Trunking. So several circuits in one VE-Port and no need for Port-Channels.

 

Kind Regards
Ralf
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Thanks for quick reply . Any idea  how broacde communicates to CISCO 5548 ? we  are used 10G SFP to connect to it, however cisco Hitahi came back with saying , Brocade ge 10G SFP doesnt support on cisco 5548 

Any link for best practises for 7840 connecting to Core Router/Firewall ?


@ralf.schlosser wrote:

Hi,

 

HA you will get with FCIP-Trunking. So several circuits in one VE-Port and no need for Port-Channels.

 


 

External Moderator
Posts: 5,512
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

AFAIK,

 

Cisco 5548 don't support FCIP, for this reason you cannot create a FCIP tunnel with Brocade 7840.

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Thanks Antonio for the reply   Now we are checking the possibilities 7840 to Active/Passive fireall

 

Any link   for Brocade 7840 compatibility with Cisco Switches/ ASA Firewall ?

 

@There is  below which talks @ the SAN connection , not FCIP connection. 

https://www.brocade.com/content/dam/common/documents/content-types/product-matrix/brocade-compatibility-matrix-fos-7x-mx.pdf  

 


@Antonio Bongiorno TechHelp24 wrote:

AFAIK,

 

Cisco 5548 don't support FCIP, for this reason you cannot create a FCIP tunnel with Brocade 7840.




External Moderator
Posts: 5,512
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Hi,

 

->Now we are checking the possibilities 7840 to Active/Passive fireall

 

I think, but is just my opinion, such a config is not supported for follow reason.

 

the 10G Port on Brocade can be configured as a simple Uplink, but AFAIK, it cannot be configured or set as NPIV.

 

NPIV is required on cisco side in order to get a link up on 5548

 

About ASA Firewall, I'm not confident with the plattforms, but i think 95% such a config is not supported.

 

If I'm wrong, please ignore my post.

TechHelp24
External Moderator
Posts: 5,512
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

I found follow instruction from Extension Guide

 

http://www.brocade.com/content/html/en/administration-guide/fos-740-extensionguide/GUID-8C914D4A-E78C-4414-8487-2EAA9FDF15B3.html

 

a similarly config as per you request show to be supported from 1GE Port.

 

 

 

 

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎06-29-2010

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

Thanks 

 

Any idea which module of Cisco nexus supports FCIP traffic as uplink ,   I have found  Nexus 7K  passes FCIP traffic further  . Hitachi is recommending to  replace  Cisco 5548 with 5596 . 

 

As u mentioned , the chances of cross connection firewall would be slip as Passive  F/W can pass traffic further and we already in risk of losing 2 path 

External Moderator
Posts: 5,512
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: 7840 FCIP and redunancy and Cisco Nexus 5548

->Hitachi is recommending to  replace  Cisco 5548 with 5596 . 

 

xx48 or xx96 Models, are EXACT!!! the same platforms with same Features, the only one Difference is Port Count.

 

To be honestly is to me a mystery why HDS give such you such a recommendation ????

 

well, if you want to replace the CISCO, then replace it with another Brocade 7840, and resolve all the problem.

 

As per my opinion is a most easy solutions.

 

-->>Any idea which module of Cisco nexus supports FCIP traffic as uplink ,

 

No sorry. As I said in my other post yesterday, AFAIK, neither the Nexus 5548 nor the 5596 don't support FCIP, apart of that I'm unable to assist you with such a plattforms.

 

I would suggest to ask in Cisco Forum, we are here by Brocade.

 

 

 

 

TechHelp24

Join the Broadcom Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resources across the Broadcom Community Network.