Fibre Channel (SAN)

Occasional Contributor
Accepted Solution

5300 setup help

HI, I am looking for some help with a 5300 FC switch.  A company was nice enough to donate a 5300 (80port active) switch to us to replace our older Qlogic 4GB 5600 switches.  With the 5600 switch by deafult every port saw every port, which is how I want to setup the 5300.  But I am having problems getting that accomplished with the 5300. I can plug storage and HBA's into the 5300 and get link lights, but they don't see each other (they are all 4GB connections btw).  I did a zonedef --allaccess, rebooted and no change.    Does anyone have an tips that could help me out?  I'm far from a FC expert and feel like I am getting in over my head on this one.

Thanks,

Scott

Occasional Contributor

Re: 5300 setup help

Hello Scott,

To give you the correct steps to get all devices to see each other I would have to know the current FOS version on the 5300.  What license are loaded on this 5300?

Regards

Exension_Guy

Peter O'Brien
Occasional Contributor

[ Edited ]

Attached are the licenses it has.  I've made a little headway in editing zones, but am still a little confused.  IS there a way to enable zones without a device connected for "future" expansion?  Say I want ports 1-10 to be storage ports and 11-20 to be HBA ports, even though I only have storage devies connected to ports 1-5 and HBA's connected to the ports 11-15.  Can i create a zone that allows devies to be connected to 6-10 and 16-20 at a later time even the they aren't present when creating the zone?

Ideally, I would like to have a zone where all of ports 1-31 are for storage and 33-79 are for HBAs and they remain active/open

I've been using the web interface fyi.

Thanks again for all your help!

Occasional Contributor

Hello Scott,