Ethernet Switches & Routers

New Contributor

ospf w/md5 Cisco and Brocade NetIron or SuperX

Hello everybody, I'm new to the community but I have been working with Brocade/Foundry gear for the last 3 years. I am running into a new problem that has me a little bit baffled. I am trying to configure md5 authentication between a Cisco 6509E and a NetIron XMR 4000 with no success. On the Brocade side I do not find any meaningful information on the debug, however on the Cisco I am getting a "Mismatch Authentication Key-Message Digest Key 1" .

I verify and the key is correct. Without any authentication the links work just fine without any problems, any input or suggestion are very welcome.

Thanks,

Antonio

Super Contributor

Re: ospf w/md5 Cisco and Brocade NetIron or SuperX

I think you need to turn encription off. See below from the config guide.

MD5-authentication key <string>

The MD5 key is a number from 1 – 255 and identifies the MD5 key that is being used. This parameter is required to differentiate among multiple

keys defined on a router.

By default, the authentication key is encrypted. If you want the authentication key to be in clear text, insert a 0 between key and <string>.

For example,

NetIron

(config-if-e10000-1/8)# ip ospf 1

md-5-authentication key-id 5 key 2 morningadmin

The software adds a prefix to the authentication key string in the

configuration. For example, the following portion of the code has the

encrypted code “2”.

New Contributor

I think you are right I just finish reading a section in the manual that mentions something along that line. I guess if you entered a 1 expects and encrypted password and if you enter a 0 unencrypted. I will try that tomorrow and let you know how it works,

Thanks very much for your input,

Antonio

Super Contributor

sorry for some reason the rest of what I said did not cut and paste

The end should have been as below.  Anyway please test and let us know.

NetIron