Ethernet Switches & Routers

New Contributor

assigning ports to vlans

Hello all,

I am relatively new to Brocade.  We are installing a new wireless system, and I need to trunk all the uplinks on switches that pass wireless network traffic.  Here's what I am running into:

First, I create the vlans and vlan interfaces on the router so...

vlan 400 name WiFi

tagg ethe 1/3/1 eth 1/3/3

interface vlan 400

ip address 10.10.0.1 255.255.255.0

Then I go to a secondary switch and configure the uplink..

vlan 400 name WiFi

tag ethe 1/2/1

At this point, I get an error - port is not member of default vlan.  

So I try adding it to vlan 1, and get the error "are already a member of vlan 1"

There is also a vlan 4000 with the name "Default_VLAN" but the tagged command doesn't appear to be available in it.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Anthony

Brocade Moderator

Re: assigning ports to vlans

Anthony,

Be aware the default vlan is untagged only. All ports are placed in the default vlan by default. You can change the vlan WIFI to by port.

vlan 400 by port

You can set the default vlan to 4000.

default-vlan-id 4000

Do you want dual-mode? So, so it will always be a member of the default vlan?

Please review the layer 2 guide on the brocade website for the version of code you are running. This will help you get a better understanding of how brocade handles vlans and ports.

Sincerely

Bill

Any and all information provided by me is for entertainment value and should not be relied upon as a guaranteed solution or warranty of merchantability. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a concern about data loss, or network disconnection, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, Please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution".
Brocade Moderator

Re: assigning ports to vlans

Hello Anthony,