Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Community Manager
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎03-03-2014

Twitter Support Question - FCX

[ Edited ]

Question posted on Twitter:

 

Does anyone know if the CX4 (stacking) ports on @brocade FCX can be used as traditional 10G ports (with a FCX NIC or a SFP+-toCX4 cable) posted Feb 8th 2017 at 7:12 am by @acontions_net 

 

Answer from Brocade Support:

 

Our TAC Support Team believes you can use that port as a data port, but this has not been tested. By default, ports 1/2/1 and 1/2/2 on FCX-S switches are set in ‘stacking’ mode (16Gb) with a short preamble. This won’t work for data. You can switch the port to long preamble and 10Gb with the following:

 

FCX(config)#int eth 1/2/1
FCX(config-if-e10000-cx4-1/2/1)#long-preamble
FCX(config-if-e10000-cx4-1/2/1)#speed-duplex 10g-full

 

The CLI allowed the commands, so this should work for you. If it doesn’t work, we would need to test it in a lab environment and it would be best to contact TAC Support for assistance.

 

If you have another questions please login (upper right) or if you dont have an account, please create one for FREE by clicking Register (upper right)

 

Thank you

Jason McClellan
Community Manager
@jason_cmgr

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2017

Re: Twitter Support Question - FCX

Thanks for the information. I will try those commands.

However, since I do not have a couple of FCXs (or a CX4 NIC) available for testing, I won't be able to test right now, but the config keys are still useful for me.

 

Thanks !

 

@Acontios_net (I am the author of the initial question on Twitter)

Community Manager
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎03-03-2014

Re: Twitter Support Question - FCX

Great to hear @Acontios.

 

Let us know if you have any questions post testing.

 

Thank you

Jason McClellan
Community Manager
@jason_cmgr

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-09-2017

Re: Twitter Support Question - FCX

I tested: It's working :-)

https://twitter.com/acontios_net/status/853565491675373568

 

Thanks for the help !

 

telnet@SW-STD-PA2#sh int bri wi | i 10G        
1/2/1      Up      Forward Full 10G   None  Yes N/A  0   0024.38c3.0ab1  PVE01-STD:BO
telnet@SW-STD-PA2#sh run int e 1/2/1           
interface ethernet 1/2/1
 port-name PVE01-STD:BO
 load-interval 30
 speed-duplex 10G-full
 long-preamble
!

telnet@SW-STD-PA2#sh mac-address ethernet 1/2/1
Total active entries from port 1/2/1 = 1
MAC-Address     Port                 Type          Index  VLAN
0007.4305.c726  1/2/1                Dynamic       20504  93   

 

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Download FREE NVMe eBook