Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Trunking vlans puzzle

I have a puzzling problem when I attempt to connect switch closets back to the NOC with more than one gb fiber port per vlan. I can connect NOC 1/1 to Central 1/1 and NOC 1/5 to Central 1/5. When I add fiber port NOC 1/6 to Central 1/6 then things start going berzerk until the network basically locks up. Experienced same thing when trying to attach/bringup NOC 1/2 to Central 1/2 The fiber ports involved are B8G and B8GMRIII IronCore. I spread the trunks across the first 4 ports of card 1 and card 2 and then the last 4 ports of card 1 and card 2 - assuming a line card failure wouldn't take down the whole vlan trunk. Am I breaking trunking rules somewhere? Maybe I've got a problem with tagging setup or I misunderstand that tagging is trying to take all the vlans? I was trying to keep the dual-mode voice and data traffic separate. Please advise.

NOC SWITCH

-config snip-

trunk switch ethe 1/1 to 1/4 ethe 2/1 to 2/4       ## default data vlan CENTRAL ##
trunk switch ethe 1/5 to 1/8 ethe 2/5 to 2/8        ##  voip vlan CENTRAL ##
trunk switch ethe 3/1 to 3/4 ethe 4/1 to 4/4       ## default data vlan WEST ##
trunk switch ethe 3/5 to 3/8 ethe 4/5 to 4/8        ##  voip vlan WEST ##
trunk switch ethe 5/1 to 5/4 ethe 6/1 to 6/4       ## default data vlan SOUTH ##
trunk switch ethe 5/5 to 5/8 ethe 6/5 to 6/8        ##  voip vlan SOUTH ##
trunk switch ethe 7/1 to 7/4 ethe 8/1 to 8/4       ## default data vlan NORTH ##
trunk switch ethe 7/5 to 7/8 ethe 8/5 to 8/8        ##  voip vlan NORTH ##
!
!
vlan 96 name VOIP by port
tagged ethe 1/5 to 1/8 ethe 2/5 to 2/8 ethe 3/5 to 3/8 ethe 4/5 to 4/8 ethe 5/5 to 5/8 ethe 6/5 to 6/8 ethe 7/5 to 7/8 ethe 8/5 to 8/8
tagged ethe 9/1 to 9/6 ethe 9/8 to 9/24 ethe 11/3 ethe 11/5 ethe 11/7 to 11/8 ethe 12/13 to 12/14 ethe 12/16 to 12/23
untagged ethe 9/7 ethe 11/1 to 11/2 ethe 11/4 ethe 11/6 ethe 12/15 ethe 12/24
priority 6
ip-subnet 172.16.96.0 255.255.255.0 name 172.16.96
  static ethe 1/5 to 1/8 ethe 2/5 to 2/8 ethe 3/5 to 3/8 ethe 4/5 to 4/8 ethe 5/5 to 5/8 ethe 6/5 to 6/8 ethe 7/5 to 7/8 ethe 8/5 to 8/8 ethe 9/1 to 9/24 ethe 11/1 to 11/8 ethe 12/13 to 12/14 ethe 12/16 to 12/24
  router-interface ve 96
!
vlan 100 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port
router-interface ve 100

CENTRAL CLOSET SWITCH

-config snip-

trunk switch ethe 1/1 to 1/4 ethe 2/1 to 2/4

trunk switch ethe 1/5 to 1/8 ethe 2/5 to 2/8

!

!

vlan 96 name VOIP by port                                        

tagged ethe 1/5 to 1/8 ethe 2/5 to 2/8 ethe 3/1 to 3/24 ethe 4/1 to 4/24 ethe 5/1 to 5/24 ethe 6/1 to 6/24 ethe 7/1 to 7/24 ethe 8/1 to 8/8

tagged ethe 9/1 to 9/8 ethe 10/1 to 10/8

priority 6

ip-subnet 172.16.96.0 255.255.255.0 name 172.16.96

  static ethe 1/5 to 1/8 ethe 2/5 to 2/8 ethe 3/1 to 3/24 ethe 4/1 to 4/24 ethe 5/1 to 5/24 ethe 6/1 to 6/24 ethe 7/1 to 7/24 ethe 8/1 to 8/8 ethe 9/1 to 9/8 ethe 10/1 to 10/8

  router-interface ve 96

!

vlan 100 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port

router-interface ve 100

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Trunking vlans puzzle

Hi,

     I do remember that there was some rules you had to follow with M8Gs about what ports could be made a truck.  Something like odd port number only or some such.  Please post a "show version " and I will see if I cna find a manual and check.

Thanks

Michael.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: Trunking vlans puzzle

SW: Version 08.0.01pT53 Copyright (c) 1996-2004 Foundry Networks, Inc.
      Compiled on Mar 05 2008 at 09:48:11 labeled as B2R08001p
      (3855287 bytes) from Primary B2R08001p.bin
  HW: BigIron 15000 Router, V2(0300), SYSIF version 21, Serial #: f000125498

Can we not do multiple trunk groups between switches? Perhaps I'm just creating a loop and these would have to be link aggregation only. If you can't do more than one trunk between two switches, than this is my error.

I see you can't use link aggregation on a port configured as a trunk member.

The rules for trunking state the primary port 1, 3, 5, 7 begin on odd numbers ports in groups of 1, 2, 4, 8 up to 8

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Trunking vlans puzzle

Hi GGGGG,

Can we not do multiple trunk groups between switches?

     I think you can but then you would need to run a form of spanning tree (MSTP,RSTP etc) to block one trunk group.  This would not be the best choice - I would trunk the 8 ports as 1 trunk group.

I see you can't use link aggregation on a port configured as a trunk member.

     That is correct you can use either LACP or trunk - not both.

Thanks

Michael.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: Trunking vlans puzzle

Ok, I have run my trunking test. The new config with one trunk instead of two trunks still halted the whole network when I added the second interface. Also, I could not get the Data traffic on DEFAULT-VLAN to pass, only the VOIP traffic. Yes I disconnected the interface cables during the trunk deploy and even rebooted the edge switch to make sure the trunk came up correctly. There is something about this config I can't figure out. I noticed I could NOT add the DEFAULT-VLAN as tagged ports to the trunk group, in fact, there's no option to tagged or untagged for DEFAULT-VLAN settings. Do I need to assign a vlan for the Dual-Mode other than the DEFAULT-VLAN so that I can build a Vlan with tagged ports and add the tagged ports to the trunk? SInce I added the trunk ports as members of the vlan 96, they are no longer available for the DEFAULT-VLAN.

These are the basics of the TEST config I had on each end of the trunk:

trunk switch ethe 1/1 to 1/4 ethe 2/1 to 2/4

vlan 96 name VOIP by port
tagged ethe 1/1 to 1/4 ethe 2/1 to 2/4 ethe 9/1

ip-subnet 172.16.96.0 255.255.255.0 name 172.16.96
  static ethe 1/1 to 1/4 ethe 2/1 to 2/4 ethe 9/1

   router-interface ve 96

vlan 100 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port
router-interface ve 100

default-vlan-id 100

ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 172.16.100.1
ip router-id 172.16.100.254  (or 100.252 for edge switch)
no ip source-route

interface ve 96
ip address 172.16.96.254 255.255.255.0
ip bootp-gateway 172.16.96.254  (or 96.252 for edge switch)
ip helper-address 1 172.16.96.10
!
interface ve 100
ip address 172.16.100.254 255.255.255.0
ip bootp-gateway 172.16.100.254    (or 100.252 for edge switch)
ip helper-address 1 172.16.100.1     

(( a typical 10/100 port with voip device and laptop))

interface ethernet 9/1
dual-mode
voice-vlan 96        

Total number of IP routes: 3, avail: 139997 (out of max 140000)
B:BGP D:Connected  R:RIP  S:Static  O:OSPF *:Candidate default
        Destination     NetMask         Gateway         Port       Cost   Type
        0.0.0.0         0.0.0.0         172.16.100.1    v100       1      S  
1       172.16.96.0     255.255.255.0   0.0.0.0         v96        1      D  
2       172.16.100.0    255.255.255.0   0.0.0.0         v100       1      D               

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Trunking vlans puzzle

I would make vlan 1 the default vlan (as per default) - Do not use vlan 1 for user traffic as the default vlan has some restrictions.  I do not rememeber for sure but I do remember that using vlan 1 or a changed default VLAN caurse me to loose my hair .

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook