Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-28-2013

SX-FI-2XG

I can't get the SX-FI-2XG recognized in the FSX.

Got this message every time I insert the module: unknown module id: 0x6c

Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Thanks.

Huy Nguyen

Community Manager
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎01-13-2009

Re: SX-FI-2XG

Moved to the correct space.  Also, what is the other management module you have in the FSX chassis you are trying to insert the SX-FI-2XG into?  Some of the MMs can't go with others.

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: SX-FI-2XG

Hi Huy,

     Can you please post a "show version" - I think you need to be on 7.4.00 code for the SX-FI-2XG to work and be using a SX-800 or SX-1600.  Not sure what you have and version.

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-28-2013

Re: SX-FI-2XG

Hi Martin,

Thanks for the reply.  I have 1 SX-FI42XG, 7 SX-FI424C and a SX-FI12GM1 in the chassis.  I disabled the S3 and removed it.  Hot-inserted the SX-FI-2XG and this a show module, here this is how it look.

FastIron SuperX Switch#show module

    Module                                             Status    Ports       Starting MAC 

S1: SX-FI42XG 2-port 10G                        OK          2          0012.f2b7.4f00

S2: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper             OK         24         0012.f2b7.4f18

S3:

S4: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper             OK         24        0012.f2b7.4f48

S5: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper             OK         24        0012.f2b7.4f60

S6: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper             OK         24        0012.f2b7.4f78

S7: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper             OK         24        0012.f2b7.4f90

S8: SX-FI424C 24-port Gig Copper             OK         24        0012.f2b7.4fa8

S9: SX-FI12GM1-4 12-port Management     OK         12        0012.f2b7.4fc0

FastIron SuperX Switch#enable module 3

FastIron SuperX Switch#Unknown module id: 0x6c in slot 3.

Please let me know what you think?  Do I need to upgrade the firmware for that SX-FI-2XG.  Thank you.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎03-28-2013

Re: SX-FI-2XG

Here is the show version.

FastIron SuperX Switch#show ver

  SW: Version 07.2.02gT3e1 Copyright (c) 1996-2010 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc.

      Compiled on Jul 23 2012 at 13:25:29 labeled as SXS07202g

      (3228626 bytes) Primary SXS07202g.bin

      BootROM: Version 07.2.00T3e5 (FEv2)

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: SX-FI-2XG

Hi Huy,

     I do not believe the SX-FI12GM management model can support the SX-FI2XG cards at all, not matter what version of Ironware installed.

Think at min you need SX-FIZMR

Thanks

Michael.

Community Manager
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎01-13-2009

Re: SX-FI-2XG

Hi Huy,

I agree with Michael.  Also, it looks like you might have a SuperX chassis as opposed to a SX-800 or SX-1600.  The SX-FI2XG cards will not work in the SuperX chassis.

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: SX-FI-2XG

FYI - The SX-FI62XG  - 2-port XFP 10 Gigabit Ethernet module, is the 2 port XFP model that will work in a SuperX.

Thanks

Michael.

Community Manager
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎01-13-2009

Re: SX-FI-2XG

Oops!  Thanks Michael.

Community Manager
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎01-13-2009

Re: SX-FI-2XG

Hi Michael,

As a follow-up, I did a little bit of additional investigating over here and I didn't find any of this very well documented.  So, I ended up confirming the pieces below with the Product Manager.  Most of it is what you have already stated above.  This is intended to be a summary and confirmation for the thread.

  • The SX-FI-2XG interface module will not operate in an SuperX chassis.
  • The SX-FI-2XG does work in an SX-800 or SX-1600 chassis with 7.3.00 or later.
  • The SX-FI-2XG works with the SX-FIZMR, SX-FI2XGMR4 or SX-FI2XGMR6 and associated PREM versions.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.