Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-29-2011

Routing issue from my FWS648 to a Cisco 1841

I am on the State of Florida network called My Florida Net.  They send out their own router to the agencies that will be using their network.  So I have zero control over the 1841.  The router has the ip of 164.51.159.129.  My FWS648 has the ip of 164.51.159.254.  Because of the phone system being on a seperate VLAN and I want to enable outlook intergration I have made the new gateway for my workstations 164.51.159.254 in order to get the correct traffic to 192.168.15.0 network because I can't do that on the 1841 since I can't control it.  So since the change of the gateway my users have been complaining about 'the internet going down' on random occasions.  I did a ping to both 129 and 254 and both were always up while running a ping to google.  When I saw google stop responding and the other 2 up, I did a trace and the traffic stopped at 254.  So for one full day (yesterday) I gave all the workstations 129 again for the gateway.  Zero issues.  Last night after my firmware upgrade I put them all back to 254 hoping the firmware upgrade would have fixed the issue.  This morning every user I talked to had issues with the internet again.

So traffic is not always getting from 254 (FWS648) to 129 (1841).  Is there something I am missing in my config?  Or is there something I can have the admin if the 1841 check and add to accept traffic?

/note:  the 1841 is plugged into port 0/1/1

!
ver 07.2.02aT7e1
!
module 1 fws1g-48-port-copper-base-module
!
!
!
!
vlan 1 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port
!
vlan 100 name DATA by port
tagged ethe 0/1/25 to 0/1/48
untagged ethe 0/1/1 ethe 0/1/3 to 0/1/24
router-interface ve 100
!
vlan 130 name VOICE by port
tagged ethe 0/1/25 to 0/1/48
untagged ethe 0/1/2
router-interface ve 130
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
boot sys fl sec
enable super-user-password .....
hostname FWS648-01-L3
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 164.51.159.129
!
telnet timeout 15
cdp run
fdp run
router rip
!
interface ethernet 0/1/25
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/26
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/27
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/28
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/29
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/30
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/31
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/32
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/33
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/34
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/35
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/36
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/37
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/38
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/39
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/40
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/41
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/42
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/43
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/44
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/45
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/46
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/47
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ethernet 0/1/48
dual-mode  100
voice-vlan 130
!
interface ve 100
ip address 164.51.159.254 255.255.255.128
!
interface ve 130
ip address 192.168.15.1 255.255.255.0
ip helper-address 1 164.51.159.145
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
end

Thank you,

Mark

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Routing issue from my FWS648 to a Cisco 1841

Hi Mark,

     The config looks correct.  Suggest you do a 'show log' around the time when the ping stops.

     Leave your users with the gateway of the 1841, but put your test machine on a static IP with the gateway of the VE 100 so as to not effect your users.

     Also post the results of a 'show interface ether 0/1/1' and 'sh statistics eth 0/1/1'

Thanks

Michael.

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Routing issue from my FWS648 to a Cisco 1841

Hi,

     Any update on this one?

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-29-2011

Re: Routing issue from my FWS648 to a Cisco 1841

I am sorry I haven't gotten back sooner.  A lot of drama at work and I haven't been able to really work on this the way I wanted.  I implemented a workaround instead for now.

I went ahead and placed my phone system on the 164 network so I could get all of my exchange integration and management tools to work fine with having the gateway set as .129.  The phones are still on the 192 network and they are communicating with the phone system fine.

Since that has been put into place everything seems to be working just fine.  I may revisit the issue when I get more time and drama has come to a hault.

Thank you very much for your help Michael.

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Routing issue from my FWS648 to a Cisco 1841

Hi FriedCherry,

     You are most welcome.

     I would suggest if you have a different QOS on the two networks to put the phone system back in the voice VLAN at a later point to maintaine the QOS.

Thanks

Michael.

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Routing issue from my FWS648 to a Cisco 1841

Hi FriedCherry,

     If I answer this can you please mark as answered?

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-29-2011

Re: Routing issue from my FWS648 to a Cisco 1841

I am sorry.  Things seem good for now.  Thank you.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

Download FREE NVMe eBook