Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-19-2013

Routing interface on 6610

Apologies if this is documented somewhere, I did a good amount of searching and couldn't find how to do it.

Basically I am setting up a "no switchport" equivalent with a 6610, base layer 3 image. I'm able to assign the port an IP, but my problem comes in when I attempt to create a router interface for the default VLAN - I get the error: IP routing, ip policy or route-only was configured on ports 1/1/24.

I know that I can simply set it to a different VLAN, but is there a way to completely remove it from all VLANs? What is best practice in this situation? My port configuration is as follows:

interface ethernet 1/1/24
  route-only
  ip address 10.105.0.2 255.255.255.252

Thanks in advance for any help!

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: Routing interface on 6610

mis2,

You may try removing the "route-only" command on the interface "1/1/24" and see if it works.

thanks,

Deepti

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-19-2013

Re: Routing interface on 6610

Deepti,

Thank you for the idea. Unfortunately I have tried this and it does not make a difference, same error when I try to create a virtual interface, and can't use "no untagged e1/1/24" while in the VLAN configuration.

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: Routing interface on 6610

mis2,

Can you share the switch cfg when you get a chance? Maybe something is missing in the config.

thanks,

Deepti

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-19-2013

Re: Routing interface on 6610

Sure, here's the current configuration:

ICX6610-24 Router#sh run
Current configuration:
!
ver 07.4.00cT7f3
!
stack unit 1
  module 1 icx6610-24-port-management-module
  module 2 icx6610-qsfp-10-port-160g-module
  module 3 icx6610-8-port-10g-dual-mode-module
  stack-trunk 1/2/1 to 1/2/2
  stack-trunk 1/2/6 to 1/2/7
stack disable
!
global-stp
!
!
trunk ethe 1/1/21 to 1/1/22
 port-name "iSCSI" ethernet 1/1/21
 port-name "iSCSI" ethernet 1/1/22
!
vlan 2 name GUEST by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/1 to 1/3/8
 spanning-tree
!
vlan 10 name CLOSET1 by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/1
 spanning-tree
!
vlan 20 name CLOSET2 by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/2
 spanning-tree
!
vlan 30 name CLOSET3 by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/3
 spanning-tree
!
vlan 40 name CLOSET4 by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/4
 spanning-tree
!
vlan 50 name CLOSET5 by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/5
 spanning-tree
!
vlan 60 name CLOSET6 by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/5 to 1/3/6
 spanning-tree
!
vlan 70 name CLOSET7 by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/1
 spanning-tree
!
vlan 100 name WIRELESS by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/1 to 1/3/8
 router-interface ve 100
!
vlan 150 name iSCSI by port
 untagged ethe 1/1/21 to 1/1/22
!
vlan 200 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port
 spanning-tree priority 0
!
vlan 201 name MGMT by port
 tagged ethe 1/3/1 to 1/3/8
 router-interface ve 201
!
vlan 1000 by port
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
default-vlan-id 200
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 ethernet 1/1/24
!

!
!
interface ethernet 1/1/24
 ip address 10.105.0.2 255.255.255.252
!
interface ethernet 1/3/1
 port-name Closet1
 dual-mode  10
!
interface ethernet 1/3/2
 port-name Closet2
 dual-mode  20
!
interface ethernet 1/3/3
 port-name Closet3
 dual-mode  30
!
interface ethernet 1/3/4
 port-name Closet4
 dual-mode  40
!
interface ethernet 1/3/5
 port-name Closet5
 dual-mode  50
!
interface ve 100
 ip address 10.101.0.1 255.255.254.0
!
interface ve 201
 ip access-group MGMT in
 ip address 10.100.200.1 255.255.255.0
!
!
!
ip access-list standard MGMT
 permit 10.100.0.0 0.0.240.255
!
!
!
!
!
!
!
end

And my problem is this:

ICX6610-24 Router(config-vlan-200)#router-interface ve 200
error - IP routing, ip policy or route-only was configured on ports  1/1/24

Happens with or without route-only on the interface. From what I can see there isn't a way to remove it from all VLANs (but I thought that route-only was supposed to work like "no switchport").

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: Routing interface on 6610

mrpbro,

Thankyou for sharing the config. Inorder to create VE on a VLAN, all the VLAN ports should not have any ip configuration , route-only cfg & ip policy configurations. You may remove the ip address & try again.

thanks,

Deepti

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎06-19-2013

Re: Routing interface on 6610

Deepti,

Thank you for the help. However, the main thing I'm trying to figure out is if I can have an interface that is not part of any VLAN (like "no switchport" acts on Cisco switches). I know that I can move it to a different VLAN, but the ideal solution would be to disassociate it from any VLANs at all. Just wondering if this is possible. Thanks!

Frequent Contributor
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎06-15-2009

Re: Routing interface on 6610

Mrpbro,  If route-only  OR ip address is configured, switch functionality will be disabled on that particular port and will be considered as a router port. In 'show vlan', you can see those ports. Functionality-wise, those ports wont be associated to that VLAN as well if that is what you are looking for.

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Routing interface on 6610

Hi mrpbro,

     You may find the following doc usefull as well. http://community.brocade.com/docs/DOC-2347

I did note that you are also using the default vlan (that you changed to 200) - you should not use the default for any thing other then holding ports that are not used at all.

Thanks

Michael.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook