Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

I am new to Brocade switches are they similar to Cisco's?

All I want to is assign a port on to one of our VLAN's can someone give me a cheat sheet of commands or something I know its a simple question help!

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

Hi nicholas1,

     To add a port to a Vlan (say vlan 20);

Brocade#config term

Brocade(config)# vlan 20

Brocade(config-vlan-20)# tag ether 1/1 <-- port numbering will depend of what type of switch/router you have - use show int bri for a list of port and port numbering)

Above puts port 1/1 into vlan 20 as a tagged port (dot1.q tag - switch port mode trunk)

Or

Brocade#config term

Brocade(config)# vlan 20

Brocade(config-vlan-20)# untag ether 1/1 <-- port numbering will depend of what type of switch/router you have - use show int bri for a list of port and port numbering)

Above puts port 1/1 into vlan 20 as a untagged port (switch port mode access)

Thanks

Michael.

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

Also the attach might be helpful if you know Cisco well.

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

I want to add lets say port 24 to vlan 160 how do I do this??

I am new to brocade help!

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

Hi ,

     Commands are in Bold

switch>enable

switch#config term

switch(config)#vlan 160

switch(config-vlan-160)#tag ether 1/1/24

The above will add port 1/1/24 to VLAN 160 as a tagged port (use untag ether 1/1/24 if you want it as just a member)

Thanks

Michael.

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-02-2012

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

This may be a dumb question but what does a member or tagged port mean? Its been so long!

And what does the 1/1/24 mean

Does 1 mean switch one and the 2nd 1 mean stack one and 24 means port 24 right?

I do not want to use it as a uplink just a workstation on the network...

Thanks for the help Michael!

Super Contributor
Posts: 1,087
Registered: ‎12-13-2009

Re: Question about assigning VLAN's to a port.

Ok, lets use your terms.

Tagged (stamped with a dot1q value) is uplink

Untagged (no stamp) is for workstations/printers etc

You want to use the untag command.

1/1/24 - First 1 = Stacking unit 1 (will always be 1 if you are not in a stack)

          - second 1 = module number (switch may have more then one module)

          - 24 = yep the port number on the module

Example of an ICX6430 (using show int bri)

1/1/23       Up      Forward Full 1G    None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e56  msserver

1/1/24       Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e57

1/2/1         Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e59

1/2/2         Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e5a

1/2/3         Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e5b

1/2/4         Down    None    None None  None  No  1    0   748e.f882.5e5c

mgmt1      Down    None    None None  None  No  None 0   748e.f882.5e40

module 1 is the 24 ports

module 2 is the 4 x SFP ports

Thanks

Michael.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook