Ethernet Switches & Routers

Occasional Contributor

Product line differences between ICX and VDX

Hello,

We are looking at potentially replacing some of our ToR switches. As I am new to the Brocade product lines, I was wondering if someone in the community could express their perspectives on the differences between ICX and VDX (apart from the VCS technology) before I contact the Brocade sales team.

From what I can tell, I am assuming the VDX series have a lower over subscription ratio (better per-port efficiency) and the VCS technology.

Thank-you kindly for your input.

Respectfully,

~C

Super Contributor

Re: Product line differences between ICX and VDX

Neither are over subscribed if used as stand alone switches.

Depending on what modal of icx when stacked will give you different OS rate.

VDX through VCS use ISL's to form the fabric. so you could make it OS or not.

ICS use Fastiron code

VDX use NOS

OS is newer but lacks done of the normal features found on the ICX's. But comes down to what you want to do. If ToR then layer 2 or 3, how much east west traffic etc.

Thanks Michael.

Occasional Contributor

it is not about the subscription ,most of the ICX series are Gigabit switchs,ausually used in the campus situation,they support the stacking,layer 2 or layer 3 switchs.but  the VDX series are TenGigbit switchs,usually used in the date center.and also you know ,the VDX support the VCS .so ccording to your network to chose the best .

Occasional Contributor

Hello, I feel I need to clarify. When speaking in terms of oversubscription, most people conclude that you are referring to total logical bandwidth availability. Service providers use an oversubcription formula much like some airlines and hotels when dealing with high volume of customers.