Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-15-2011

Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

Hi

I'm trying to use SFP ports 2 and 4 (1/2/2, 1/2/4) on ICX-6450. But I'm unable to use them as they always in err-disabled state. Switch of course doesn't have installed 10G-POD license for these ports.

According to page 214 of FI 7.4 documentation port 1/2/2 should be usable with 1G SFP module after configuring 'speed-duplex 1000-full-master'. But it's not working .Also 'wr mem' & 'reboot' doesn't help . It's look like bug in software.

ICX6450-24 Router#sh interfaces ethernet 1/2/2

10GigabitEthernet1/2/2 is ERR-DISABLED (invalid license), line protocol is down

ICX6450-24 Router#sh run int e 1/2/2

interface ethernet 1/2/2

route-only

ip address 9.0.0.1 255.255.255.0

speed-duplex 1000-full-master

!

ICX6450-24 Router#sh ver

  Copyright (c) 1996-2012 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc. All rights reserved.

    UNIT 1: compiled on Mar  2 2012 at 12:58:48 labeled as ICX64R07400

                (12467916 bytes) from Secondary ICX64R07400.bin

        SW: Version 07.4.00T313

  Boot-Monitor Image size = 512, Version:07.4.00T310 (kxz07400)

  HW: Stackable ICX6450-24

ICX6450-24 Router#sh media | inc 1/2/2

Port 1/2/2:  Type : 1G M-TX(SFP)

Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎12-08-2009

Re: Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

By default, ports 1 and 3 are 10 Gbps ports and ports 2 and 4 are 1 Gbps ports.
in order to use port 1/2/2 and 1/2/4 I guess you dont have to use speed-duplex command.
did you try same port with another SFP ? or did you try this SFP on another switch?

Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-15-2011

Re: Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

SFPs are just fine. They work in other switch or ports 1/2/1 and 1/2/3.

Ports are also in err-disabled state if there is no SFP in ports (after configure on them 'speed-duplex 1000-full-master').

Documentation says that you have to configure speed to 1G:

From the default state, ports 2 and 4 can be configured to 1 Gbps port speed using the

speed-duplex 1000-full-master command without a license. You do not need to reboot the

switch for the links to come up in 1 Gbps port speed.


I also tried without configured speed - but effect is always the same. It doesn't work.

IMHO port should not be in err-disabled state after configuring on them 'speed-duplex 1000-full-master'.

Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎12-08-2009

Re: Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

Did you try disabling and enabling the port at the Interface Level of the CLI.

You also can give a try entering the command
clear loop-detection.
This command clears loop detection statistics and enables all Err-Disabled ports

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-05-2011

Re: Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

I'm having the same problem I've tried your suggestion Serhat as below with no luck. I've contacted our account manager who is trying to get me an answer regarding this, he has email confirmation that they should indeed work.

ICX6450-24P Switch(config)#int e 1/2/2

ICX6450-24P Switch(config-if-e10000-1/2/2)#dis

Disabling of the port 1/2/2 is not allowed when it is in error-disabled state.

ICX6450-24P Switch(config-if-e10000-1/2/2)#ena

Enabling of the port 1/2/2 is not allowed when it is in error-disabled state.

ICX6450-24P Switch#clear loop-detection

loop detection is not configured on any port or vlan

ICX6450-24P Switch#

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-05-2011

Re: Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

Found the solution in the fastiron configuration guide (http://www.foundrynet.com/services/documentation/FastIronMerge/current/FastIron_07400_ConfigGuide.pdf).

From the default state, ports 2 and 4 can be configured to 1 Gbps port speed using the

speed-duplex 1000-full-master command without a license. You do not need to reboot the

switch for the links to come up in 1 Gbps port speed.

The only alteration is save the configuration and reboot the switch, even if it says you don't have to, it lies (one day brocade will write a manual that doesn't lie)!

ICX6450-24P Switch#show int e 1/2/2

10GigabitEthernet1/2/2 is down, line protocol is down

  Hardware is 10GigabitEthernet, address is 748e.f8b0.517a (bia 748e.f8b0.517a)

  Configured speed 1Gbit, actual unknown, configured duplex fdx, actual unknown

  Member of L2 VLAN ID 1, port is untagged, port state is BLOCKING

  BPDU guard is Disabled, ROOT protect is Disabled

  Link Error Dampening is Disabled

  STP configured to ON, priority is level0, mac-learning is enabled

  Flow Control is enabled

  Mirror disabled, Monitor disabled

  Not member of any active trunks

  Not member of any configured trunks

  No port name

  MTU 1500 bytes

  300 second input rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization

  300 second output rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization

  0 packets input, 0 bytes, 0 no buffer

  Received 0 broadcasts, 0 multicasts, 0 unicasts

  0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 ignored

  0 runts, 0 giants

  0 packets output, 0 bytes, 0 underruns

  Transmitted 0 broadcasts, 0 multicasts, 0 unicasts

  0 output errors, 0 collisions

  Relay Agent Information option: Disabled

Egress queues:

Queue counters    Queued packets    Dropped Packets

    0                   0                   0

    1                   0                   0

    2                   0                   0

    3                   0                   0

    4                   0                   0

    5                   0                   0

    6                   0                   0

    7                   0                   0

ICX6450-24P Switch#

ICX6450-24P Switch#

ICX6450-24P Switch#

ICX6450-24P Switch#show int e 1/2/4

10GigabitEthernet1/2/4 is down, line protocol is down

  Hardware is 10GigabitEthernet, address is 748e.f8b0.517c (bia 748e.f8b0.517c)

  Configured speed 1Gbit, actual unknown, configured duplex fdx, actual unknown

  Member of L2 VLAN ID 1, port is untagged, port state is BLOCKING

  BPDU guard is Disabled, ROOT protect is Disabled

  Link Error Dampening is Disabled

  STP configured to ON, priority is level0, mac-learning is enabled

  Flow Control is enabled

  Mirror disabled, Monitor disabled

  Not member of any active trunks

  Not member of any configured trunks

  No port name

  MTU 1500 bytes

  300 second input rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization

  300 second output rate: 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec, 0.00% utilization

  0 packets input, 0 bytes, 0 no buffer

  Received 0 broadcasts, 0 multicasts, 0 unicasts

  0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 ignored

  0 runts, 0 giants

  0 packets output, 0 bytes, 0 underruns

  Transmitted 0 broadcasts, 0 multicasts, 0 unicasts

  0 output errors, 0 collisions

  Relay Agent Information option: Disabled

Egress queues:

Queue counters    Queued packets    Dropped Packets

    0                   0                   0

    1                   0                   0

    2                   0                   0

    3                   0                   0

    4                   0                   0

    5                   0                   0

    6                   0                   0

    7                   0                   0

ICX6450-24P Switch#

ICX6450-24P Switch#

ICX6450-24P Switch#show ver

  Copyright (c) 1996-2012 Brocade Communications Systems, Inc. All rights reserved.

    UNIT 1: compiled on Mar  2 2012 at 12:38:17 labeled as ICX64S07400

                (10360844 bytes) from Primary ICX64S07400.bin

        SW: Version 07.4.00T311

  Boot-Monitor Image size = 512, Version:07.4.00T310 (kxz07400)

  HW: Stackable ICX6450-24-HPOE

==========================================================================

UNIT 1: SL 1: ICX6450-24p POE 24-port Management Module

         Serial  #: XXXXXX

         License: BASE_SOFT_PACKAGE   (LID: dbtHKGOjFGN)

         P-ENGINE  0: type DEF0, rev 01

==========================================================================

UNIT 1: SL 2: ICX6450-SFP-Plus 4port 40G Module

==========================================================================

  800 MHz ARM processor ARMv5TE, 400 MHz bus

65536 KB flash memory

  512 MB DRAM

STACKID 1  system uptime is 2 minutes 27 seconds

The system : started=warm start  reloaded=by "reload"

ICX6450-24P Switch#show lice

  license                  Show software license information

ICX6450-24P Switch#show license

License record empty

ICX6450-24P Switch#

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-20-2010

Re: Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

DEFECT000395157 = ICX6450 port 1/2/2 and 1/2/4 configured for 1 gig requires reload to come up.

this will be fixed in next code release of 7.4.0 patch.

Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎03-15-2011

Re: Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

Do you have idea when next release of patched 7.4 will be available for download ?

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎04-20-2010

Re: Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

tentative date is july 18 for new patch release of 7.4.0

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-18-2014

Re: Problem with SFP ports 2 and 4 on ICX 6450

Hi there,

 

I had to re boot to use the 10G ports i e1/2/1 and 1/2/2 and reconfigure speed-duplex and re boot and thats with a premium license. My issue is similar in that I want to trunk the two 10g ports together not stack, I am running the pair with 7400e routing firmware and can't seem to get them to trunk together, keeps coming up and saying that they have to be of the same speed and duplex which they are.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.

vADC is now Pulse Secure
Download FREE NVMe eBook