Ethernet Switches & Routers

New Contributor

Problem with DHCP & VoIP on FGX-648P-PoE

I have a L2 only 648P-PoE uplinked to a CIsco 2821XM router via 0/1/1 and to a second semi-managed switch via 0/1/2. The router has several VLANs, including a Cisco Call Manager VLAN (VLAN 6). Routing between VLANs is working. A Cisco Call Manager on a Windows 2000 server is also on the switch. Simple pinging works. However, my Cisco 7960 VoIP phones cannot get DHCP info from the Call Manager. The DHCP service is running and configured and is on port 0/1/39 (untagged vlan 6)

Running Wireshark on both the DHCP server port and a VoIP phone port shows DHCP requests from the phone, but they don't appear to be arriving at the server port.

I'm new to Brocade, but have experience with Cisco 3550/3560 L2/L3 switches. I've looked through the lengthy online config document as well as my FNCNE study guide, but can't see what I'm doing wrong. Any help/suggstions would be appreciated. Thanks!

Here's my switch config:

ver 04.3.01T7e1

module 1 fgs-48-port-management-module

!
!
!
!

vlan 1 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port

loop-detection

!

vlan 6 name VoIP by port

tagged ethe 0/1/1 to 1/1/2 ethe 0/1/5 to 0/1/38 ethe 0/1/40

untagged ethe 0/1/39 ethe 0/1/41

uplink-switch ethe 0/1/1 to 0/1/2

!

vlan 40 name VLAN40 by port

tagged ethe 0/1/1 to 0/1/2

!

vlan 42 name VLAN42

tagged ethe 0/1/1 to 0/1/2 ethe 0/1/5 to 0/1/6 ethe 0/1/9 to 0/1/15

!

<snip>  <several more VLANs - all similarly configured>

!
!
!
!
!

hostname SWITCH-POE

ip dhcp snooping vlan 6

ip address 192.168.24.111 255.255.255.0

no ip dhcp-client enable

ip default-gateway 192.168.24.110

cdp run

fdp run

interface ethernet 0/1/5

dual-mode 42

inline power

voice-vlan 6

!

interface ethernet 0/1/6

dual-mode 42

inline power

voice-vlan 6

!

<snip>

interface ethernet 0/1/38

dual-mode 50

inline power

voice-vlan 6

!

interface ethernet 0/1/40

inline power

!

<snip>

!
!
!
!
!
!
end

Super Contributor